SuDocsLocating government publicationsDocs @ TuttMiscellaneous Catalogs and Databases
ArtBusinessConsumers-CitizensFBISSample Citations
This is the "Databases - Public Access" page of the "Federal Government Databases and Search Engines" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Federal Government Databases and Search Engines   Tags: databases, general guide, general guides, government, united states  

Last Updated: Apr 4, 2014 URL: http://coloradocollege.libguides.com/content.php?pid=473290 Print Guide RSS Updates

Databases - Public Access Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

By Subject at Tutt

Need help doing research?

Check out the Government Information Subject Guide.

 

Colorado Focus

Colorado By The Numbers
Statistical abstract for the State of Colorado.
Colorado Economic And Demographic Information System
Coverage: varies, 1980's-current
CEDIS provides detailed local and state level economic and demographic information.

See also the Colorado Guide

Public Access by Title - U.S.

American FactFinder
Census data (population, housing, economics, and government), data, tables, maps and reports
American Memory
Historical digitized collections: Oral histories, letters, photographs, documents
Bureau Of Justice Statistics
Crime, criminal offenders, victims of crime, and the operation of justice systems at all levels of government; topics include victims, drugs, criminal offenders, justice system & courts, law enforcement, corrections etc.
The Clean Air Act Amendments Of 1990,: 1989-1991
Essential documents on the promulgation and implementation and other environmental issues including endangered species and protection of American wetlands. The 1990 CAAA was a landmark effort to reduce air pollution. Note: this collection may not display on the Archives Unbound home page. Click Browse to see all subscribed collections.
Congress.gov
Easy to search for legistion (2001-), the Congressional Record (2001-), current member and legislation
Congressional Research Service Reports
Brief (less than 50 pages), non-partisanship, in-depth analysis of public policy issues on topics under study by Congress
Defense Technical Information Center (DTIC)
Access to government-funded scientific, technical, engineering, and business related information
Development Experience Clearinghouse DEXS
USAID funded technical and program documentation, search for agency-funded technical and program-related documents
DOE Information Bridge,1990-
Full-text documents and bibliographic citations for research in physics, chemistry, materials, biology, environmental sciences, energy technologies, engineering, computer and information science, renewable energy, and other topics
Energy Citations Database, 1943-
Science research citations and e-documents of scientific and technical research results in disciplines such as chemistry, physics, materials, environmental science, geology, engineering, mathematics, climatology, oceanography, and computer science; reports, conference papers, journal articles, books, dissertations, and patents
Environmental Health Perspectives
Monthly journal of peer-reviewed research and news from NIEHS, NIH, DoHHS
EPA Publications Search
Search for Environmental Protection Agency publications by number or subject
ERIC Database
Bibliographic records of journal articles and education-related materials
Fed In Print
A comprehensive index to Federal Reserve economic research, working papers and economic articles
FedBizOpps
Access for government-wide Federal procurement opportunities that exceed $25,000
Fedstats
Data and trend information on such topics as economic and population trends, crime, education, health care, aviation safety, energy use, farm production and more
GAO Reports
Reports, testimonies, correspondence, and special publications on audits, surveys, investigations, and evaluations of Federal programs conducted by the Government Accountability Office
Homeland Security Digital Library
Collection of policy and strategy related documents - U.S. policy documents, presidential directives, and national strategy documents as well as specialized resources such as theses and research reports from various universities, organizations, local agencies and state agencies
MapStats, United States
Use maps to navigate the FedStats site
MedlinePlus
NIH consumer health. Reliable, up-to-date information on diseases, conditions and wellness issues
NASA Technical Reports Server (NTRS)
Current and historical technical literature back to 1994; aerospace and engineering related citations, documents, images and videos
National Archives And Records Administration
Description and many links to digital copies of documents, photographs and maps housed by NARA
National Climatic Data Center
National and global data describing the US climate and records for the trends and anomalies of weather and climate
National Criminal Justice Reference Service Abstracts Database
Summaries of the more than 210,000 criminal justice, juvenile justice, and substance abuse resources
National Technical Information Service,1964-
Bibliographic records for US government sponsored research and select foreign governments research reports, computer products, software, video cassettes, audio cassettes and more
National Bureau of Economic Research Working Paper Series, 1994-
Focus on empirical research such as the development of new statistical measures, effects of public policy on U.S. economy, and estimating quantitative models of economic behavior
Popular Names Of U.S. Government Reports
Search by short titles that appear nowhere in the document
PubMed1950s-
Citations for biomedical articles; many links to full text articles and related resources
THOMAS1967-
Federal legislative information: bills, resolutions, Congressional Record, schedules, calendars, committee information, Presidential Nominations, treaties and government resources
US Patent And Trademark Office
Existing patents and trademarks or file new ones; intellectual property and inventors
USA Trade Online
Official Source for merchandise trade data: current and cumulative export and import data for over 18,000 export commodities and 24,000 import commodities; trade statistics using the Harmonized System and NAICS commodity codes
USA.gov
By topic with FAQs
      

    Public Access by Title - International

    EUROSTAT
    Comparable and harmonized data of the the European Union, its Member States and its partners.
    Geographic Names Information System (GNIS)
    The official repository of domestic geographic names data containing information about physical and cultural geographic features of all types in the United States, associated areas, and Antarctica, current and historical, but not including roads and highways
    Homeland Security Digital Library
    Collection of homeland security policy and strategy related documents - U.S. policy documents, presidential directives, and national strategy documents as well as specialized resources such as theses and research reports from various universities, organizations, local agencies and state agencies
    International Financial Statistics
    Coverage: 1948 - current
    Provides users with time series which summarize each country's balance of payments, with collateral data on its principal components (trade and reserves), and data on the principal cause and effect elements (monetary expansion and contraction, government surpluses and deficits, production, prices and interest rates).
    OECD ILibrary
    Coverage: 1967 - current
    Books, journals, working papers, statistics, and glossaries published by the OECD (Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development). Users can search by country, theme, date, content type, and more. The OECD FactBook is available from 2005 to current, with data tables and graphs that can be exported to Excel. This database was formerly known as SourceOECD.
    UN Documentation Centre
    Official records, reports, resolutions, meeting records, sales publications, press releases with dates from the General Assembly, Councils, and Internation Court of Justice
    UN Statistics Division Common Database
    Coverage: 1958 - current
    Statistical compilation- contains selected data series from 30 specialized international sources, including labor, agricultural, nutritional and industrial statistics. Years of coverage vary with data series/countries selected.
    United States Patent And Trademark Office
    Search for existing patents and trademarks or file new ones. Also features information on intellectual property and inventors.
    USA Trade Online
    Official Source for U.S. Merchandise Trade Data: current and cumulative U.S. export and import data for over 18,000 export commodities and 24,000 import commodities; provides trade statistics using the Harmonized System and the North American Industry Classification System (NAICS) commodity classification codes.
    World Databank
    Coverage: 1960-current
    Free databases of economic indicators including World Development Indicators (WDI), Gender Statistics, Education Statistics, Health Nutrition and Population Statistics, Quarterly External Debt Statistics/SDDS and /GDDS, Africa Development Indicators, Global Economic Monitor (GEM), and Millennium Development Goals; export statistics to Excel, and generate customizable maps and charts.
        
      Description

      Loading  Loading...

      Tip