This is the "Home" page of the "DA100 / DR100 History of Performance, Ryan Platt (FYE)" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

DA100 / DR100 History of Performance, Ryan Platt (FYE)   Tags: block 2  

Last Updated: Oct 11, 2012 URL: http://coloradocollege.libguides.com/content.php?pid=391208 Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Find the Full Text

  Searches for
Full Text

If a database doesn't give you the full text of article, just click on the Tutt Link logo.

Tutt Link will search to see if the article is available

1) in another Tutt database
2) in print (second floor)
3) through Interlibrary Loan 

Tutt Link FAQs

 

Create a Keyword List

The right keywords help to effectively search catalogs, databases, and the Internet.

  • Start by compiling a list of keywords that represent each concept of your topic.
  • Use more specific terms when searching databases versus catalogs.
  • Try boolean operators (AND, OR, NOT) to link your terms together into a single search.
  • Look for additional terms in your search results. Add these to your list.

You may need to do multiple searches in each database to research your topic. However, with patient and persistence, you'll find relevant material.

Finding scholarly articles

When searching for scholarly articles, you are almost always best off using one of the library's subscription databases than you are simply searching the web.

Of the databases listed below, JSTOR and Academic Search Compete cover virtually all academic subjects and contain mostly full-text articles (rather than just citations). The down side is that they may not cover all subjects in much depth, but all students in this class should give them a try.

The other databases below are more focused. MLA International Bibliography covers language and literature studies as well as film. International Bibliography of Theatre and Dance and the Film & Television Literature Index have more self-explanatory titles. These three should cover their areas in more depth, but will many times only have a bibliographic entry for an item, and lack the full text.

  • JSTOR
    Coverage: late 1800's - most recent 0-10 years. Archival access to many scholarly periodicals. Some titles include current issues while others have a moving wall (full text embargo).
  • Academic Search Complete
    Coverage: 1865 - current. Large database with extensive full text access to journals, in addition to abstracts and indexing. Subject coverage is general and broad.
  • MLA International Bibliography
    Coverage: 1963 - current. Literature, languages, linguistics, and folklore from over journals and series published worldwide.
  • International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance with Full Text
    Coverage: 1960s to current. Our major database for the performing arts. Journal indexing with full text, plus over 100 books in full text.
  • Film & television literature index
    Coverage: 1980s - current. Indexes journals covering all areas of film and television, from reviews to film & TV theory to more technical aspects.
 

Find Books

TIGER, the CC Library Catalog

TIGER will tell you what we own (books, DVDs, CDs, etc.) or subscribe to (journals, databases, etc.) at Colorado College. It will not help you find articles in journals.

The Prospector Catalog will help you find books and other items in other Colorado libraries which you can request and have sent to Tutt Library for you to use.

WorldCat can help you find books in libraries almost anywhere and request them via interlibrary loan.

Please ask a librarian if you need help with TIGER, Prospector, or WorldCat.

Humanities Librarian

Profile Image
Steve Lawson
Logo - AIMLogo - Yahoo IM
Contact Info
You are most likely to get in touch with me using the "Send Email" link below. You can also call 719-389-6857 or visit my office in the Learning Commons.
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip