Possible topics
- Catherine II and Radishchev
- Nicholas I and Chaadaev
- Nicholas I or Alexander II or Pobedonostsev and Dostoevsky
- Alexander III or Nicholas II and Tolstoy
- Lenin and Gorky
- Trotsky and Bogdanov (Proletkult)
- Stalin (until 1930) and Mayakovsky or Platonov
- Stalin (after 1930) and Socialist Realism, or Bulgakov
- Zhdanov and Akhmatova
- Khrushchev and Solzhenitsyn
- Khrushchev and Pasternak
- Brezhnev and Aksyonov (Village Prose and Dissidents)
- Yeltsin and Prokhanov
- Putin and Sorokin
Sources
From the syllabus: "In your final paper, cite at least three sources (one must be a journal) in addition to any of the books assigned for this course. Please include a Russian – English essential vocabulary (minimum of 30 words) at the end of your final essay."
If you haven't been assigned a particular citation style, pick one and stick with it:
- MLA format is typical for the humanities.
- Chicago Style (also known as "Turabian") is also popular.
- APA format is used widely in the social sciences.
You can get help in creating citations from librarians at the reference desk or from tutors at the Writing Center.
From the syllabus
Your research project will explore a uniquely Russian phenomenon—a relationship, often intense and dangerous, between a political leader and an artist (understood broadly—a writer, a musician, a film director). This project is a two-block academic undertaking, which will progress in several stages: choosing a broad topic (see list below), finding research partners, formulating pertinent and incisive questions, preparing and delivering group presentation, narrowing down your topic, writing three rough drafts, and, at the end of the course, preparing a final copy of your individual essay. Your investigation will focus on two or more epoch-making Russian figures, one politician, and one writer/artist, or a group of artists. Find out as much as you can about these historic figures and construct an argument revealing a symbiosis between a political leader and his or her cultural counterpart(s).
Use Tiger to find books & more at Colorado College
Tiger, the CC library catalog, will tell you what we own (books, DVDs, CDs, etc.) or subscribe to (journals, databases, etc.) at Colorado College. It will not help you find articles in journals.
Use Prospector to request books & more from across Colorado
If you can't find a book, DVD, CD, or other item you need in Tiger, you can use Prospector to search libraries across Colorado and then request that they be sent to the Tutt Library circulation desk for you to check out here.
Article databases
- Historical AbstractsCoverage: 1967 - current. Covers world history.
- JSTORCoverage: late 1800's - most recent 0-10 years. Archival access to many scholarly periodicals. Some titles include current issues while others have a moving wall (full text embargo).
- MLA International BibliographyCoverage: 1963 - current. Literature, languages, linguistics, and folklore from over journals and series published worldwide.
- Academic Search CompleteCoverage: 1865 - current. Large database with extensive full text access to journals, in addition to abstracts and indexing. Subject coverage is general and broad.
- LEXIS-NEXIS Academic UniverseCoverage: 1977 - current. Access to popular press material such as newspaper articles. Also contains law review articles.
Humanities Librarian |
![]() ![]() Contact Info You are most likely to get in touch with me using the "Send Email" link below. You can also call 719-389-6857 or visit my office in the Learning Commons. Send Email Subjects: Art & Art History, Comparative Literature, Drama and Dance, English, French, German, Italian, Philosophy, Religion, Spanish |




Loading...
