MLA International Bibliography
The MLA International Bibliography database (link below) is our most comprehensive source for finding articles, book chapters, and books related to literature and language.
Tip: Due to the way that MLA assigns keywords, you may need to be especially patient when searching and "teaching" the database what you mean. For example, sometimes articles that deal with gender issues are assigned the keyword gender. Sometimes, though, only the more specific keywords, such as masculinity, femininity, men, or women are assigned.
So try putting all the words that suggest a particular concept in one search box, separated by "or": "virginia woolf" and "gender" gets about 1/5 the hits that "virginia woolf" and "gender or men or women or masculin* or feminin*" gets.
- MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new windowCoverage: 1963 - current. Literature, languages, linguistics, and folklore from over journals and series published worldwide.
All Databases for Comparative Literature
- ARTFL project, University of Chicago This link opens in a new windowCoverage: Medieval to 20th Century. Consists of nearly 2000 French texts. Subjects include literary criticism, biology, history, economics, and philosophy. Genres include novels, verse, theater, journalism, essays, correspondence, and treatises. The 18th, 19th and 20th centuries are about equally represented, with a smaller selection of 17th century texts as well as some medieval and Renaissance texts.
- Asian American Drama This link opens in a new windowCoverage: 1891 - current. 250+ plays (some never before published) by 40+ authors together with detailed, indexed information on related productions, theaters, production companies, and more. Cross-searchable under North American Theater Online.
- Black Drama, 1850 to Present This link opens in a new windowCoverage: 1846 - current. Contains the full text of over 1,400 rare and hard-to-find plays written from the 1850's to the present by playwrights from North America, English-speaking Africa, the Caribbean, and other African Diaspora countries. Search by author, title, subject, date, full-text, etc. Cross-searchable under North American Theater Online.
- Black Thought and Culture: African Americans from Colonial Times to the Present This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Coverage: 1700 - 2006. Black Thought and Culture contains 1,200+ sources covering the non-fiction published works of leading African Americans. Includes non-fiction works, interviews, journal articles, speeches, essays, pamphlets, letters and other fugitive material. Also includes the Black Panther newspaper from 1967-1980. Allows for advanced browsing and searching. Some materials are cross-searchable under Social and Cultural History - BookBrowse This link opens in a new windowFind books to read. Readers' advisory website which locates books by genre, audience, theme, time period and geographic area. Reviews and read-alikes are included with book listings. BookBrowse links to the library catalog, making it easy to find books of interest and determine if they're in Tutt Library. Books not owned by Tutt Library may be ordered through Prospector. Please use the library link for BookBrowse, which grants access to members-only areas and displays the catalog link.
- Early American Imprints. Series I, Evans (1639-1800) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text of almost every book and pamphlet printed in North America from 1639 to 1800. - Early American Imprints. Series II, Shaw-Shoemaker (1801-1819) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text of almost every book and pamphlet printed in North America from 1801 to 1819. - Early English Books Online This link opens in a new windowCoverage: 1475 - 1700. Contains the full text of over 100,000 English books, pamphlets, and more, from the first book published in English through the age of Spenser and Shakespeare.
- Eighteenth Century Collections Online This link opens in a new windowCoverage: 1701-1800. Digitized copies of every significant English-language and foreign-language title printed in Great Britain during the eighteenth century, along with thousands of important works from the Americas. Now incorporates new texts from ECCO part two.
- Humanities International Complete This link opens in a new windowCoverage: 1929 - current. A comprehensive humanities database, with almost 500 full text titles and indexing and abstracting for more than 1,700 titles. Subject areas include (but are not limited to) literature, philosophy, the arts, history, culture-oriented and multi-disciplinary humanities titles with some coverage going back as far as 1929. This database replaces Humanities Abstracts.
- International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance with Full Text This link opens in a new windowCoverage: 1960s to current. Our major database for the performing arts. Journal indexing with full text, plus over 100 books in full text.
- Johns Hopkins Guide to Literary Theory & Criticism This link opens in a new windowLook up literary theories, theorists, and other terms in this authoritative guide.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowCoverage: late 1800's - most recent 0-10 years. Archival access to many scholarly periodicals. Some titles include current issues while others have a moving wall (full text embargo).
- Literary index This link opens in a new windowCoverage: current. Master index to every literary series published by Gale Research Inc. Combines and cross-references author names, including pseudonyms and variant names, and titles into one source.
- Literature Criticism from 1400 to 1800 This link opens in a new windowOnline, full-text literary criticism, anthologized and excerpted from books and journal articles. Criticism of works published from the late Middle Ages through the end of the seventeenth century. Part of Literature Criticism Online. Coverage: first volume through summer 2020.
- Literature Criticism Online This link opens in a new windowOnline, full-text literary criticism, anthologized and excerpted from books and journal articles. Covers literature from the classical era to today in all genres. Coverage: first volume through summer 2020.
- MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new windowCoverage: 1963 - current. Literature, languages, linguistics, and folklore from over journals and series published worldwide.
- Nineteenth-century literature criticism This link opens in a new windowCoverage: N/A. Online, full-text literary criticism, anthologized and excerpted from books and journal articles. Chronologically-arranged criticism of authors of the nineteenth century. Part of Literature Criticism Online. Coverage: first volume through summer 2020.
- North American Indian drama This link opens in a new windowCoverage: 1926 - current. 170+ plays by 30+ playwrights together with detailed, indexed information on related productions, theaters, production companies, and more. Also includes bibliographies and the Native Playwrights' Newsletter. Cross-searchable under North American Theater Online.
- North American Women's Drama This link opens in a new windowCoverage: 1714 - current. 1500+ plays (some never before published) by 300+ playwrights together with detailed, indexed information on related productions, theaters, production companies, and more. Also includes selected playbills, production photographs and other ephemera. Cross-searchable under North American Theater Online.
- Oxford English Dictionary This link opens in a new windowOnline version of the well-known historical dictionary of English, The Oxford English Dictionary, covering the language from the earliest times to the present day, showing not only the current meanings of words, but also tracing their development through time.
- PEP-WEB: Psychoanalytic electronic publishing This link opens in a new windowCoverage: 1920 - current. Archive of classic texts and journals in the field of psychoanalysis, including Freuds collected works. PEP-WEB can search for keywords specifically within dreams, dialogs or references.
- Poetry Criticism This link opens in a new windowCoverage: N/A. Online, full-text literary criticism, anthologized and excerpted from books and journal articles. Biographical sketches and bibliographies of the poets, in addition to a wide selection of criticism. Part of Literature Criticism Online. Coverage: first volume through summer 2020.
- Project Muse Scholarly Journals Online This link opens in a new windowCoverage: varies. Project Muse Standard Collection of core scholarly titles from John Hopkins University. Offers current and back issues. Please note: we do not subscribe to the Premium Collection. We have access to most, but not all, Project Muse titles.
- Shakespearean criticism This link opens in a new windowCoverage: N/A. Online, full-text literary criticism, anthologized and excerpted from books and journal articles. Includes critical interpretations of Shakespeare from the 17th century to modern times. Part of Literature Criticism Online. Coverage: first volume through summer 2020.
- Short story criticism This link opens in a new windowCoverage: N/A. Online, full-text literary criticism, anthologized and excerpted from books and journal articles. Historical survey of the critical response to included authors. Part of Literature Criticism Online. Coverage: first volume through summer 2020.
- Columbia Granger's World of Poetry This link opens in a new windowCoverage: 1500 - current. The definitive source in English for locating a poem in anthologies. Includes 13,000 poems in full text, and 250,000 poetry citations, in addition to commentaries, biographies, bibliographies, notes on form, and a glossary of prosodic terms.
- Twentieth Century North American Drama This link opens in a new windowCoverage: 1835 - current. 1,500+ plays (some never before published) by 200 playwrights, together with detailed, indexed information on related productions, theaters, production companies, and more. The database also includes selected playbills, production photographs and other ephemera related to the plays. Cross-searchable under North American Theater Online.
- Twentieth-Century Literary Criticism This link opens in a new windowCoverage: N/A Online, full-text literary criticism, anthologized and excerpted from books and journal articles. Criticism on major literary and nonfiction writers of the twentieth century. Part of Literature Criticism Online. Coverage: first volume through summer 2020.
- Women Writers Online This link opens in a new windowCoverage: 1400 - 1850. Contains fulltext of nearly 400 works of early modern women writers.
Humanities Librarian
Nicole Gresham
Contact:
Tutt Library, Room 218
1021 N. Cascade Ave.
Colorado Springs, CO
80903
1021 N. Cascade Ave.
Colorado Springs, CO
80903
719-389-6669