Congressional Materials
Congressional Materials - present legislative intent of bills and frequently contain statistics and useful background.
Reports, Documents, Hearings, Committee Prints -- for the Senate and House -- eventually become part of the U.S. Congressional Serial Set. Early volumes also include executive branch materials were incorporated including annual reports of executive agencies and statistical compilations (from 1837). Later a retrospective series, the American State Papers covering 1789-1838, was published to incorporate earlier materials.
- Congressional Universe - for Serial Set volumes
- American State Papers (LC) - covering 1789-1838, incorporates early materials
Congressional Record
- is the proceedings of the U.S. Congress; there were several preceding titles.
- Journals of the Continental Congress, 1774-1789 and continuing titles - (LC) 1789-1875
- Congressional Record (Daily) - (Govinfo) 1994 to Present
- Congressional Record (Bound), 1873 to 2001, 2003 to 2015
Congressional Bills and Resolutions (Full Text)
Congressional Bills and Resolutions & Legislative Histories and Bill Tracking
- Congress.gov (LC)
Statutes (Public Law)
Bills become Public Laws which are bound sequentially in the order they were signed into law into the U.S. Statutes at Large.
- Statutes at Large @ CC, Request Docs AE 2.111:
- Browse Public Laws (via GovInfo) 1995- and Statutes at Large 1951-
Subscription Databases
login required
- Congressional (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Provides access to congressional and legislative information. Includes information about members of congress like voting records, addresses, etc. - CQ library This link opens in a new windowCoverage: Nov. 1991 - current. This weekly publication covers the most current and controversial issues of the day with complete summaries, insight into all sides of the issues, bibliographies and more.
- Congressional Research Service reports
Non-partisanship and in-depth analysis of public policy issues on topics under study by Congress all under 50 pages.
Historical Documents
Century of Lawmaking for a New Nation: U.S. Congressional Documents & Debates, 1774-1873
- full text of the 1st through 42nd Congresses
- Congressional Record (House Journal, Senate Journal and Senate Executive Journal, Annals of Congress, Register of Debates, & Congressional Globe) and Statutes at Large
- also documents on the Continental Congress and constitutional debates (1774-89) in the Journals of the Continental Congress, Farrand's Records of the Federal Convention of the Federal Constitution (Elliot's Debates)
- selected documents from the US Serial Set.
- “disseminate information about the United States Constitution on a non-partisan basis"