Hot Tips for Searching the Tiger Catalog!
- you want to find performances by a particular artist or group, do an AUTHOR search in the Tiger catalog. Use Last Name, First Name and select AUDIO/VIDEO from the drop-down box.
- Examples: Colcannon (a group)
- Chaurasis, Hariprasad (a performer)
To find books on world music perform a WORD search using a variety of terms: instrument names, region/country names, names of peoples, musical genres. Combine them with the term "music". Select VIEW ENTIRE COLLECTION so you'll get books. You can limit your results later. Some samples:
- Bali and music (Remember: select VIEW ENTIRE COLLECTION)
- Javanese Gamelan
- Balinese Dance
To find recorded examples of world music (sound/video) use search terms similar to the above: select the AUDIO/VIDEO search.
I can't find it in Tiger!
You can use Prospector to widen your search, including items that aren't owned by CC libraries or are checked out.
- Access to materials (scores, books, CDs, DVDs, etc.) throughout Colorado and Wyoming
- Materials arrive in 3-5 business days
To further extend your search, use WorldCat. This is often the best way to find obscure items. Items typically arrive within 2 weeks. Materials you find inside Colorado are better ordered through Prospector.
Find Background Information
Best Bets for your assignments:
- Groves Music Online. Part of the Oxford Music Online suite, this is the most important English-language resource of its type for music. Use this resource to locate background information on musical instruments, peoples, and regions or nations. Contains excellent bibliographies, illustrations,links to related articles within Groves, and links to other Internet resources. Includes some articles from the upcoming second edition of the Groves Encyclopedia of Musical Instruments.
- The Garland Encyclopedia of World Music (online version here) takes a cultural approach to its focus on the music of all the world's peoples. Each volume is arranged topically, regionally, or by ethnic group, and is complemented by an extensive index. See volume 2 for information on Cuban music!
The New Grove Dictionary of Musical Instruments. Print, an encyclopedia of musical instruments of the world. Scholarly approach, many illustrations, some bibliographies. Some articles are available in Groves Music Online.
These resources are a great way to
- Brainstorm ideas
- Narrow an existing topic
- Glean keywords for catalog and database searches
- Leverage bibliographies for the next stage of your research
And, you can BROWSE THE SHELVES!
Libraries shelve like topics together; browsing will help you find something surprisingly useful that you may not have noticed in Tiger catalog. Try the following call number ranges in both libraries (althought Tutt is your best bet):
- ML1251 Instrumental music-Indonesia
- ML345 .I5 Indonesian Music-History and Criticism
If you're seeking recordings, browse through our audio/video formats (CD, DVD, etc.) under these call numbers: Eth-OB through Eth-OH
Help for Course Project
Begin by taking a look at the resources listed in the box above, Best Bets for your assignments.
To locate recordings for your project:
- Search the Tiger catalog, using instructions from the Hot Tips box on the upper left.
- Browse the CD/LP/cassette collections in the Music Library. World music recordings are organized by region. Signs are posted in the collections guiding you to sections specifically useful for this project. Please ask a staff member for permission to access the CD/video collection.
You should also search the Tiger catalog (see Hot Tips, upper left); below are more hints:
- Start with a WORD search first
- When you find something useful...scroll down and take a look at the SUBJECT headings...click on those that interest you, to extend your search. (will broaden or narrow your search)
- A WORD search will usually reveal more results than a SUBJECT search.
Compare these searches:
- SUBJECT search:
Music Indonesia. You'll see 29 Subjects in your results pages. Scroll through these to see subjects most important for your project. Music -- Indonesia (9 results, recordings) and Music -- Indonesia -- History and criticism (4 results, books) are notable.
Musical instruments -- Indonesia. These results are books.
Indon* music*. 626 results. This is a very broad search and brings up many formats, particularly recordings/videos.
An asterisk is a truncation device that allows you to search for all letters coming after the root word you're using: music* searches musics, musician, musical, etc.
HOT TIP!!-you may broaden the above searches by repeating them in Prospector. See the small box on your upper left (I can't find it in Tiger!) for information.
To find journal articles start with the databases below. You'll find more information on them under the Finding Articles tab.
- JSTOR is a scholarly journal archives with many Music titles. Although many journals in JSTOR are archives only, JSTOR is now starting to host current content (the most recent issues). It's best not to limit your search to music journals; you'll find articles about music in journals principally devoted to other disciplines.
- The Music Index Identifies articles in over 700 music journals. Covers classical, jazz, popular, folk, and world music, including musicology, ethnomusicology, theory, applied and professional topics, music education, and the music industry. 1976-present.