Skip to main content

Tutt Library Research Guides

 

EC 329: Business Organization and Management: Articles: Advanced Techniques

This guide will focus on Evidence-Based Management research and practices.

Searching Options

Search more effectively in bibliographic databases

When you search for articles, don't rely strictly on keyword searches.

Authors: After identifying important articles in your area, search for more articles by those authors.
Descriptors: Also, search in databases like EconLit for an article you've already read. Look at the descriptors used by the database to describe it. Perform new searches based on those descriptors.
Organizations: Organizations publish reports, too. If you identify a relevant organization, like the Mediamark (a company that surveys the public), for example, search for that organization as an author.
Advanced Search Screen: There are many options such as document type (case studies, book chapters, etc.), language or geographic limiters, NASIC codes, and so on.

Mine bibliographies 1

Option 1: Bibliographies

Examine the references in articles you've already found
then use Find Journals to get access or request via ILL.

 

Mine bibliographies 2

Option 2: Tracking Citations

Web of Science Database

It contains 3 Scholarly Citation Indexes:

  • Science (1900-present)
  • Social Sciences (1900-present)
  • Arts & Humanities (1975-present)

Find influential articles and track citations.
Find what newer articles have used the original it since it was published.

Recommended for advanced users.

  

   
    - note the "Cited by" links
    - check the search within those results box

 

Settings:

1. CC library links

2. RefWorks (optional)

        A Citation Map with forward and backward views. Source: Web of Science (Thomson Reuters)

Google searches across the internet for scholarly research;
Google Scholar contains articles, theses, books, and unpublished
papers from academic publishers, professional societies,
online repositories, universities and other web sites.

Tutt Library, Colorado College      Research Help Desk: 719-389-6662, Texting: 719-387-5441, E-mail: tuttref@ColoradoCollege.edu