Skip to main content
Tutt Library Research Guides
Art Index Retrospective
Coverage: 1929 - 1984. Indexes hundreds of international art journals. See Art & Architecture Complete for more recent articles.
Art & Architecture Complete
Coverage: 1980 - current. Provides indexing and abstracts for more than 730 academic journals, magazines and trade publications with full text for over 330 periodicals and 215 books, as well as selective coverage for over 70 publications, and an Image Collection of over 64,000 images.
Humanities International Complete
Coverage: 1929 - current. A comprehensive humanities database, with almost 500 full text titles and indexing and abstracting for more than 1,700 titles. Subject areas include (but are not limited to) literature, philosophy, the arts, history, culture-oriented and multi-disciplinary humanities titles with some coverage going back as far as 1929. This database replaces Humanities Abstracts.
Academic Search Complete
Coverage: 1865 - current. Large database with extensive full text access to journals, in addition to abstracts and indexing. Subject coverage is general and broad.
Readers' Guide Retrospective
Coverage: 1890 - 1982. The premier index to popular periodicals. No full text links, but Tutt owns a large percentage of the magazines/journals indexed by this resource. Continued by Readers Guide Abstracts. Now on EBSCOHOST; H.W. Wilson platform no longer available as of 2/1/2012.
Coverage: late 1800's - most recent 0-10 years. Archival access to many scholarly periodicals. Some titles include current issues while others have a moving wall (full text embargo).
International Bibliography of Art (IBA)
Coverage: 2008-current. Bibliographic database of international scholarly literature on western art. Subjects include fine arts in all media, decorative arts, museum studies, archaeology, folk art, material culture, classical studies, antiques, and architectural history. IBA is the successor to the Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA).
Coverage: N/A. Union catalog of libraries around the world. Use WorldCat to order items through Interlibrary Loan that are not available through Prospector. WorldCat is also useful for determining if a nearby library has a book or periodical that is needed right away, and for regional libraries not in the Prospector system.
Search by author:
- The museum is often the author of its catalogs and exhibitions
- Sample search:
- Author: Colorado Springs Fine Arts Center. AND keyword: (exhibition OR catalog)
Search by artist
- The artist is often the subject
- Sample search:
- Subject: Russell, Charles M. -- (Charles Marion), -- 1864-1926. AND keyword: (exhibition OR catalog)
Use keyword searching to determine subject terms and authors!
Google, Google Scholar & Google Books
Retrieves citations to a wide variety of research papers, thesis, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports. Check for possible full text by using Colorado College Links or Colorado College e-texts buttons next to the citations.
Tutt Library, Colorado College Research Help Desk: 719-389-6662, Texting: 719-387-5441, E-mail: tuttref@ColoradoCollege.edu