Skip to main content

Tutt Library Research Guides

 

MU221 Black Music Matters: The Magical Negrx: Music Databases

MU221 Black Music Matters: The Magical Negrx

Journals, Magazines, Databases, Miscellanea

Below is a selection of Hip-Hop, popular culture, and music journals:

1200 Squad

24HOURHIPHOP

ALLHIPHOP.COM

All Music Site 

Black Grooves  Music review site hosted by the Archives of African American Music & Culture at Indiana University. Reviews of new discs and DVDs, with occasional book or news.

Black Music Research Journal

Black Perspective in Music

Black Thought and Culture

Billboard  

Billboard Magazine Archives | Billboard.com (1942-present)

Cratekings

Davey D's Hip Hop Corner

Getrightmusic

Journal of American Culture

Journal of Popular Culture

Library of Congress Celebrates the Songs of America From popular and traditional songs, to poetic art songs and sacred music, the relationship of song to historical events from the nation's founding to the present is highlighted through more than 80,000 online items

Popular Music

Rock and Roll Hall of Fame Resources on African American Music

Women & Music

Words. Beats. Life: The Global Journal of Hip-Hop Culture 

XXL

VIBE Magazine

   

 

 

 

 

Music Databases

Check out our complete list of recommended  Music Databases

Below is a list of especially useful databases for your course:

Grove Music Online

RILM

Music Index

Entertainment Industry Magazine Archive

Bloomsbury Popular Music

Our streamed audio databases provide sound recordings 24/7 on and off campus.  Black music is found in the Database of Recorded American Music (DRAM) and Music Online.
 

 

Create a Keyword List

The right keywords help to effectively search catalogs, databases, and the Internet.

  • Start by compiling a list of keywords that represent each concept of your topic.
  • Use more specific terms when searching databases versus catalogs.
  • Try boolean operators (AND, OR, NOT) to link your terms together into a single search.
  • Look for additional terms in your search results. Add these to your list.
  • Search Google Books for keywords in the title, table of contents, subject headings, and text of books.

You may need to do multiple searches in each database to research your topic. However, with patient and persistence, you'll find relevant material.

Leverage Footnotes and Bibliographies

Footnotes and bibliographies are a quick way to find related materials and track the names of popular authors.

Music Librarian

Daryll Stevens's picture
Daryll Stevens
Contact:
The fastest way to reach me is via the "Email Me" link above. You may also reach me at 389-6126, or 389-6560

Find Full Text Articles

  Searches for
Full Text

 

If a database doesn't give you the full text of article, just click on the   Tutt Link logo.

 

Tutt Link will search to see if the article is available

 

1) in another Tutt database
2) in print (Tutt's bound periodicals)
3) through Interlibrary Loan 

 

Keyword Thesaurus

Use all variations of a keyword.

The Library of Congress Authorities and Vocabularies thesaurus will help you find variations of keywords and subject headings.

Tutt Library, Colorado College      Research Help Desk: 719-389-6662, Texting: 719-387-5441, E-mail: tuttref@ColoradoCollege.edu