Skip to main content
Tutt Library Research Guides
Getting Started -- Reference Resources
The Oxford Classical Dictionary
Call Number: DE5 .O9 2012 (Second Floor- Reference Collection)
Publication Date: 2012-05-04
Brill's New Pauly
Call Number: DE5 .N4813 2002 (Second Floor- Reference Collection)
Publication Date: 2011-05-10
Dictionary of Classical Mythology
Call Number: BL715 .M38 2014 (Second Floor- Reference Collection)
Publication Date: 2014-05-31
Women of Classical Mythology
Call Number: BL715 .B445 1991 (Second Floor- Reference Collection)
Publication Date: 1991-06-30
Coverage: Prehistory - current Hundreds of thousands of digital images with descriptive information covering painting, sculpture, photography, decorative arts, architecture, and design, as well as many other forms of worldwide visual culture. Save groups of images for later use in ARTstor, or download or print to use in class projects, presentations, and papers. First-time users must register for an account from a computer on campus.
Finding Classics Texts Online
Loeb Classical Library
Digitized versions of 500+ books in the Loeb Classical Library. Browse by author, Greek or Latin, and Loeb volume.
Perseus Digital Library
Includes links to the full text of about 500 classical works in Greek and Latin, as well as English translations.
Finding Classics Texts in the Library
Find books and other resources in Tutt Library.
Find resources in libraries in Colorado and Wyoming. (Allow 3-5 days for delivery)
Find resources in libraries across the globe. (Allow 7 - 10 days for delivery.)
These are some good article databases for Classics, vaguely in order of usefulness:
- JSTOR coverage: late 1800's - most recent 0-5 years
- Archival access to many scholarly periodicals. Some titles include current issues while others have a moving wall imposed on them.
- Humanities International Complete coverage: 1929 - current
- A comprehensive humanities database. Subject areas include (but are not limited to) literature, philosophy, the arts, history, culture-oriented and multidisciplinary humanities titles with some coverage going back as far as 1929.
- L'année Philologique (citations only, in English or French) coverage: 1969 - current
- Standard index to monographs, journals and essay collections in classics (Ancient Greek and Roman language, literature, history and religion), covering essentially all books and about 1,500 periodicals published each year in English, French, German, Italian, Spanish, Russian and Japanese.
- International Bibliography Of Art (IBA) coverage: 2008-current
- Bibliographic database of international scholarly literature on western art. Subjects include fine arts in all media, decorative arts, museum studies, archaeology, folk art, material culture, classical studies, antiques, and architectural history. IBA is the successor to the Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA).
- PEP-WEB: Psychoanalytic Electronic Publishing coverage: 1920 - current
- Archive of classic texts and journals in the field of psychoanalysis, including Freud's collected works. PEP-WEB can search for keywords specifically within dreams, dialogs or references.
- TOCS-IN coverage: mostly 1992 - current
- A free service offering tables of contents of a selection of Classics, Near Eastern Studies, and Religion journals, some (about 15%) with links to free online articles.
Additional Research Guides
Tutt Library, Colorado College Research Help Desk: 719-389-6662, Texting: 719-387-5441, E-mail: tuttref@ColoradoCollege.edu