Skip to main content
Tutt Library Research Guides
Find the Full Text
If a database doesn't give you the full text of article, just click on the Tutt Link logo.
Tutt Link will search to see if the article is available
1) in another Tutt database
2) in print (second floor)
3) through Interlibrary Loan
Leverage Footnotes and Bibliographies
Footnotes and bibliographies are a quick way to find related materials and track the
names of popular authors.
Best Bets for Databases
MLA International Bibliography
Coverage: 1963 - current. Literature, languages, linguistics, and folklore from over journals and series published worldwide.
Coverage: 1865 - current. Large database with extensive full text access to journals, in addition to abstracts and indexing. Subject coverage is general and broad.
Film & television literature index
Coverage: 1980s - current. Indexes journals covering all areas of film and television, from reviews to film & TV theory to more technical aspects.
Coverage: late 1800's - most recent 0-10 years. Archival access to many scholarly periodicals. Some titles include current issues while others have a moving wall (full text embargo).
Coverage: 1929 - current. A comprehensive humanities database, with almost 500 full text titles and indexing and abstracting for more than 1,700 titles. Subject areas include (but are not limited to) literature, philosophy, the arts, history, culture-oriented and multi-disciplinary humanities titles with some coverage going back as far as 1929.
Create a Keyword List
The right keywords help to effectively search catalogs, databases, and the Internet.
- Start by compiling a list of keywords that represent each concept of your topic.
- Use more specific terms when searching databases versus catalogs.
- Try boolean operators (AND, OR, NOT) to link your terms together into a single search.
- Look for additional terms in your search results. Add these to your list.
- Search Google Books for keywords in the title, table of contents, subject headings, and text of books.
You may need to do multiple searches in each database to research your topic. However, with patient and persistence, you'll find relevant material.
Tutt Library, Colorado College Research Help Desk: 719-389-6662, Texting: 719-387-5441, E-mail: tuttref@ColoradoCollege.edu