Skip to main content
Tutt Library Research Guides
Newspapers in Tutt Library Databases
African American Newspapers, 1827-1998
Full text of 270 African American Newspapers from 35+ states. Covers topics such as life in the Antebellum South, growth of the Black church, the Jim Crow Era, the Great Migration, Harlem Renaissance, Civil Rights movement, political and economic empowerment. Based on James P. Danky's bibliography "African-American Newspapers and Periodicals."
Confederate Newspapers: A Collection from Florida, Georgia, Tennessee, Virginia and Alabama
Coverage: 1858-1866. Digitized Confederate papers from the Western Reserve Historical Society. Part of Archives Unbound.
Ethnic American Newspapers, 1799-1971
130+ digitized newspapers in 10 languages from 25 states. Covered topics include Japanese internment camps, significant immigration laws, and contributions of immigrants to American society. Emphasis is on Americans of Czech, French, German, Hungarian, Irish, Italian, Japanese, Jewish, Lithuanian, Polish, Slovak, and Welsh descent.
Foreign Newspaper Database at the Center for Research Libraries
Search by title, city, country, language, etc. and request materials to be loaned via Prospector.
See Center for Research Libraries FAQ.
Hispanic American Newspapers, 1808-1980
Coverage: 1808-1980. Spanish and bilingual Spanish/English newspapers published in the United States from the 19th to 20th centuries. Great source of historical information and culture; also a source of reporting on events in Spanish-speaking countries that were not necessarily covered in English-language newspapers. Part of America's Historical Newspapers.
ICON: International Coalition on Newspapers
Highlights and links to past, present, and prospective digitization projects of historic newspapers from around the world and in the U.S. (Most are free, some cost).
Japanese-American Relocation Camp Newspapers: Perspectives on Day-to-Day Life
Newspapers from internment camps, recording the day-to-day life of interned Japanese-Americans. Articles in Japanese and English. Primary source. Part of Archives Unbound. Coverage: 1942-1945
Latin American Newspapers
Coverage: 1805 - 1922. More than 35 fully searchable newspapers published in the 19th and early 20th centuries from Argentina, Brazil, Chile, Cuba, Guatemala, Mexico, Peru, Venezuela and elsewhere.
Newspapers of the French Revolution of 1848
All newspapers and periodicals published in France during the 1848 revolution held by the British Library, making this an excellent resource for studying the French Revolution and 19th-century French life. Other material includes episodic publications created in response to specific events with literary commentary by authors like George Sand; pamphlets; satires and parodies; newsletters; musical, theater, and opera reviews; and trade and medical titles. Part of Archives Unbound.
Nineteenth-Century U.S. Newspapers
Coverage: 1800's. Provides access to approximately 1.7 million pages of primary source newspaper content from the 19th century, featuring full-text content and images from numerous newspapers from a range of urban and rural regions throughout the U.S.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers
Coverage: 1800's - Provides complete, full-image access to historical articles from the Atlanta Constitution, Chicago Tribune, Los Angeles Times from 1881 and the New York Times from 1851. For current online articles use Lexis-Nexis Academic Universe.
Regional business news
Regional business publications covering all metropolitan and rural areas in the U.S. Coverage: 1985 - current
South Asian Newspapers
Coverage: 1864 - 1922. Collection of newspapers published in India, Pakistan and Sri Lanka; languages include English, Bengali and Gujarati. When completed, this collection will provide 400,000+ pages.
Newspapers Online (Free Web)
Images of Newspaper Advertisements
Click on "Advertisements in This Issue" for a list of links to the ads.
Tutt Library, Colorado College Research Help Desk: 719-389-6662, Texting: 719-387-5441, E-mail: tuttref@ColoradoCollege.edu