Skip to main content
Tutt Library Research Guides
Find Articles in Databases
Use databases to quickly locate articles pertinent to your research or interest. Listed here are recommended ones that Colorado College subsribes to.
Access World News: Research Collection
Comprehensive news coverage at the international, national, state and regional levels. Dates covered: varies by title; older news sources often start in 1985, but some articles date back from the early twentieth century.
LEXIS-NEXIS Academic Universe
Coverage: 1977 - current. Access to popular press material such as newspaper articles. Also contains law review articles. NOT FOR WALK-IN USE PER LICENSE. Reference librarian on duty may consult for a public patron at the Research Desk computer.
Best Bets for General Research
Coverage: late 1800's - most recent 0-10 years. Archival access to many scholarly periodicals. Some titles include current issues while others have a moving wall (full text embargo).
Academic Search Complete
Coverage: 1865 - current. Large database with extensive full text access to journals, in addition to abstracts and indexing. Subject coverage is general and broad.
Databases with articles on music
Coverage: 1979 - current. Indexes over 670 international music periodicals, covering a broad range of subjects. Good subject headings for searches; citations only.
RILM Abstracts of Music Literature
Coverage: 1967-current. This database abstracts and indexes publications on music, in all media: books, journals, online resources, research-based sound recordings and films, dissertations, and more. Publications range from 150+ countries and many languages; title translations into English and abstracts in English are included.
Oxford music online
A large collection of music reference information, encompassing The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, The New Grove Dictionary of Opera, and The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz, as well as numerous subsequent updates and emendations. Grove is now a part of Oxford Music Online (OMO), and this resource includes The Oxford Companion to Music and The Oxford Dictionary of Music. The following works will become available as content is published: The Grove Dictionary of American Music, the Grove Dictionary of Musical Instruments. Where content overlaps, entries from the Oxford Dictionary of National Biography are available.
Coverage (articles published): 18th century - current. Covers world history (except for the United States and Canada: see America, History and Life for North American coverage).
Humanities International Complete
Coverage: 1929 - current. A comprehensive humanities database, with almost 500 full text titles and indexing and abstracting for more than 1,700 titles. Subject areas include (but are not limited to) literature, philosophy, the arts, history, culture-oriented and multi-disciplinary humanities titles with some coverage going back as far as 1929. This database replaces Humanities Abstracts.
MLA International Bibliography
Coverage: 1963 - current. Literature, languages, linguistics, and folklore from over journals and series published worldwide.
Political Science Complete
Coverage: 1887-current. Political science database with a global scope. Contains full text for some journals, reference books, monographs and conference papers, in addition to abstracts and indexes for many journals.
Tutt Library, Colorado College Research Help Desk: 719-389-6662, Texting: 719-387-5441, E-mail: tuttref@ColoradoCollege.edu