Skip to main content
Tutt Library Research Guides
Find the Full Text
If a database doesn't give you the full text of article, just click on the Tutt Link logo.
Tutt Link will search to see if the article is available
1) in another Tutt database
2) in print (second floor)
3) through Interlibrary Loan
Leverage Footnotes and Bibliographies
Footnotes and bibliographies are a quick way to find related materials and track the
names of popular authors.
Best Bets for Music Article Databases
The Garland Encyclopedia of World Music (online version here) takes a cultural approach to its focus on the music of all the world's peoples. Each volume is arranged topically, regionally, or by ethnic group, and is complemented by an extensive index. See the print volume 2 for information on Brazilian music.
- Grove Music Online Use this resource to locate background and specific information on specific types of music (search by the name of the composer if you know it, or by the genre of music). Contains good bibliographies and links to other Internet resources. Provides sources on classical music, ethnomusicology, opera, jazz, and much more.
- Music Index Use this resource to gather citations to national/international journal articles, book reviews, etc, with an extensive coverage of music topics. It contains access to over 700 music journals; many of them will have links to full text you can print.
- JSTOR is a scholarly journal archives with many music titles. Although many journals in JSTOR are archives only, JSTOR is now starting to host current content (the most recent issues). It's best not to limit your search to music journals; you will find articles about music in journals principally devoted to other disciplines.
- RILM covers all types of publications on music, in all media: books, journals, online resources, research-based sound recordings and films, dissertations, and more (see a complete list of document types). Publications represented in RILM originate from 151 countries, from Albania to Zimbabwe. Articles in many languages with English titles. Not much full text, but very comprehensive coverage-and articles may be linked to other sources for full text-otherwise you can order through interlibrary loan. Try this!
If you are doing some interdisciplinary work involving music, you may want to check out suggested databases for other disciplines. Additionally, look at the JOURNALS tab in this guide to search individual journals related to your topics.
Also, check out Academic Search Complete. Coverage: 1865 - current. It's a large database with extensive full text access to journals, in addition to abstracts and indexing. Subject coverage is general and broad. If you click on Choose Databases at the top of the search fields you can select many database to search at once.
Streamed Audio Databases
Streamed audio databases provide sound recordings 24/7 on and off campus. These include:
American Song, Classical Music Library, Contemporary World Music, Jazz Music Library, Popular Music, and Smithsonian Global Sound.
The Music Library also has a large CD collection; you'll find many musical genres available for checkout.
Coverage: 1979 - current. Indexes over 670 international music periodicals, covering a broad range of subjects. Good subject headings for searches; citations only.
Coverage: late 1800's - most recent 0-10 years. Archival access to many scholarly periodicals. Some titles include current issues while others have a moving wall (full text embargo).
Create a Keyword List
The right keywords help to effectively search catalogs, databases, and the Internet.
- Start by compiling a list of keywords that represent each concept of your topic.
- Use more specific terms when searching databases versus catalogs.
- Try boolean operators (AND, OR, NOT) to link your terms together into a single search.
- Look for additional terms in your search results. Add these to your list.
- Search Google Books for keywords in the title, table of contents, subject headings, and text of books.
You may need to do multiple searches in each database to research your topic. However, with patient and persistence, you'll find relevant material.
Tutt Library, Colorado College Research Help Desk: 719-389-6662, Texting: 719-387-5441, E-mail: tuttref@ColoradoCollege.edu