Skip to main content

Tutt Library Research Guides

 

MU281 Beethoven and His Age: Getting Started

Beethoven performs for his friends-porcelain figurine from the Beethoven Center, at San Jose State.

Tutt Library's Renovation Year!

You'll need to request most books normally housed in Tutt from an offsite storage building.  Here's How to get books during the renovation.

Questions?  We're happy to help.

Searching for Beethoven----Hot Search Tips!

If......

  • you want to find works by a writer,  composer, performer, (any person), do an AUTHOR search in the Tiger catalog.  This will bring up anything she has created (scores, recordings, writings, etc).  Select VIEW ENTIRE COLLECTION from the drop-down box.
  • you want to find out about a person, do a SUBJECT search. Select VIEW ENTIRE COLLECTION from the drop-down box.

 So....a search for sources about Beethoven is a SUBJECT search. If you're looking for things Beethoven has created (musical works, letters, writings, etc.) you'll use an AUTHOR search.

When you're searching using a person's name, use this convention:  LAST NAME, FIRST NAME.

  • Beethoven, Ludwig van

Generally....

  • You'll find books about music in Tutt Library.
  • You'll find music works (scores, media) in the Music Library.
  • All other materials are located in Tutt Library

Music Library Services

Music Circulation, X6560

Music Reference, x6126

More help in Tutt Library:

Circulation Desk, x6184

Research Desk, x6662

Interlibrary Loan, x6664

Writing Center, x6742

Find your Librarian

Best bets for your assignments

Use the tabs above to roam through this guide.

To help define your research topic, it often helps to consult some of the standard reference works before searching for books, music materials, and journal articles. 

Start with:

  • Grove Music Online, found in the Oxford Music Online suite, is an essential companion and tool for scholars of classical, world, and contemporary music and musicians.  Coverage includes articles on jazz, opera, musical instruments, and American music.  Use this encyclopedia to find articles written by experts on your composer and topic.  Scan through the extensive article on Beethoven.
  • In Tiger, start with some Keyword searches. Once you find some sources that are useful, you can look for Subjects to click on to narrow or broaden you search.
  • Searching these types of subjects in the Tiger catalog.  Select SUBJECT and VIEW ENTIRE COLLECTION from the dropdown boxes on the search page:                         

              Music-18th century-history and criticism

              Music-19th century-history and criticism

Your professor has placed many books on Beethoven on the reserve shelf in the Music Library.

Other useful volumes:

The Cambridge companion to Beethoven

New Oxford history of music-The Age of Beethoven, 1790-1830

Of course, you'll want to search using Beethoven's name.  See the box to the left for hints.

And, you can BROWSE THE SHELVES! 

Once you find a good book or score in the stacks, browse the shelves for similar items. For a complete list of call numbers for music books and scores check out M is for Music!  This is possible In the Music Library only, during academic year 2016-17.  Ask me for help during this time.

Libraries shelve like topics together; browsing will help you find something surprisingly useful that you may not have noticed in the catalog. Try the following call number ranges in both libraries:

  • ML159-161   General histories here
  • ML 162-197  History by periods here

      For composer's biographies:

  • ML 410   These are organized alphabetically by last name of composer.

For articles about specific topics related to your research, use these databases:

JSTOR is a scholarly journal archives with many music titles.  Although many journals in JSTOR are archives only, JSTOR is now starting to host current content (the most recent issues).  When you search, JSTOR it's best not to limit your search to music journals; you'll find articles about music in journals principally devoted to other disciplines.

The Music Index
this database provides excellent searchability.  Use this resource to gather citations.  There will be links to a few items that are full text.  We can always order articles that aren't full text-these can be delivered to you via email, often within 24 hours.

RILM-International Repertory of Music Literature This database covers all types of publications on music, in all media: books, journals, online resources, research-based sound recordings and films, dissertations, and more. Publications represented in RILM originate from 151 countries.

 

 

Music Librarian

Daryll Stevens's picture
Daryll Stevens
Contact:
The fastest way to reach me is via the "Email Me" link above. You may also reach me at 389-6126, or 389-6560

The Ira F. Brilliant Center for Beethoven Studies

The Beethoven Center is the only institution in North America devoted solely to the life, works, and accomplishments of Ludwig van Beethoven.  It boasts the largest collection of Beethoven materials outside of Europe.

Tutt Library, Colorado College      Research Help Desk: 719-389-6662, Texting: 719-387-5441, E-mail: tuttref@ColoradoCollege.edu