Tutt Library Research Guides
Beethoven performs for his friends-porcelain figurine from the Beethoven Center, at San Jose State.
So....a search for sources about Beethoven is a SUBJECT search. If you're looking for things Beethoven has created (musical works, letters, writings, etc.) you'll use an AUTHOR search.
When you're searching using a person's name, use this convention: LAST NAME, FIRST NAME.
Use the tabs above to roam through this guide.
To help define your research topic, it often helps to consult some of the standard reference works before searching for books, music materials, and journal articles.
Your professor has placed many books on Beethoven on the reserve shelf in the Music Library.
Other useful volumes:
Of course, you'll want to search using Beethoven's name. See the box to the left for hints.
And, you can BROWSE THE SHELVES!
Once you find a good book or score in the stacks, browse the shelves for similar items. For a complete list of call numbers for music books and scores check out M is for Music! This is possible In the Music Library only, during academic year 2016-17. Ask me for help during this time.
Libraries shelve like topics together; browsing will help you find something surprisingly useful that you may not have noticed in the catalog. Try the following call number ranges in both libraries:
For composer's biographies:
For articles about specific topics related to your research, use these databases:
JSTOR is a scholarly journal archives with many music titles. Although many journals in JSTOR are archives only, JSTOR is now starting to host current content (the most recent issues). When you search, JSTOR it's best not to limit your search to music journals; you'll find articles about music in journals principally devoted to other disciplines.
The Music Index
this database provides excellent searchability. Use this resource to gather citations. There will be links to a few items that are full text. We can always order articles that aren't full text-these can be delivered to you via email, often within 24 hours.
RILM-International Repertory of Music Literature This database covers all types of publications on music, in all media: books, journals, online resources, research-based sound recordings and films, dissertations, and more. Publications represented in RILM originate from 151 countries.