Skip to main content
Tutt Library Research Guides
Databases: Best bets
MLA International Bibliography
Coverage: 1963 - current. Literature, languages, linguistics, and folklore from over journals and series published worldwide.
Humanities International Complete
Coverage: 1929 - current. A comprehensive humanities database, with almost 500 full text titles and indexing and abstracting for more than 1,700 titles. Subject areas include (but are not limited to) literature, philosophy, the arts, history, culture-oriented and multi-disciplinary humanities titles with some coverage going back as far as 1929. This database replaces Humanities Abstracts.
Literature criticism online
Coverage: N/A. Online, full-text literary criticism, anthologized and excerpted from books and journal articles. Covers literature from the classical era to today in all genres.
Coverage: late 1800's - most recent 0-10 years. Archival access to many scholarly periodicals. Some titles include current issues while others have a moving wall (full text embargo).
Academic Search Complete
Coverage: 1865 - current. Large database with extensive full text access to journals, in addition to abstracts and indexing. Subject coverage is general and broad.
Web of Science
Coverage: 1900 - current. Citation-based searching in all disciplines. Includes Science Citation Index (1900-present), Social Sciences Citation Index (1900-present), and Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975-present).
Search Tiger for books available through Tutt Library. If you have time to wait 3-5 business days, you can also try Prospector.
- To find works by a particular author, set your search to Author and input last name first name. Example:
- To find works about a particular author, set your search to Subject and input last name first name. Example:
- To find works on German literature, try searching the literary movement as keyword first. Then follow subject headings to see if we have other books on the same subject.
- German Literature
- Romanticism Germany
- Baroque Literature
- Try adding the keyword "criticism" to find books containing literary criticism on an author, work, or literary movement.
Full text sources of German literary works
Briefmarkenserie der Sowjetischen Besatzungszone, 200. Geburtstag von Johann Wolfgang von Goethe (1749—1832) From Wikipedia.
Tutt Library, Colorado College Research Help Desk: 719-389-6662, Texting: 719-387-5441, E-mail: tuttref@ColoradoCollege.edu