Skip to main content

Tutt Library Research Guides

 

ED250: From Multicultural Education to Critical Pedagogy: Civil Rights in U.S. Public Education: Follow Citation Paths

Research Guide for ED250

Mine the Bibliography!

Check an article's bibliography for useful-looking articles that might fit your assignment. These are articles the author(s) cited in their research. By following a bibliography, you're moving back in time to uncover the supporting research.

You can use Find Journals to see if we have a journal with full-text coverage of the date you need. In the example below, you could find a 2012 article from TESOL Quarterly in JSTOR, Wiley or Education Source. A 1970 article would only be in JSTOR.

You can often follow links automatically through a database such as Education Source or Web of Science. Use Tutt Link to find the articles!

If you click on "Cited References: (43)", you'll see a list of References (Bibliography) and you'll get a Tutt Link icon. Click that link to see if we have it!

Who Cited This Article?

Use citation tools to figure out who (if anybody) cited your article in hand. This is moving forward in time to see what newer research is available on a topic and to discover how influential your article was. The more times cited, the more influential.

Please note: Very recently published articles will likely not be cited, as they're too new in the publishing cycle.

Web of Science is one of the top citation searching databases. Despite the name, it includes Social Sciences & Humanities indexing. Here a search has turned up an article that has been cited 59 times (that Web of Science has tracked).

If you click on the "Times Cited ..." link, you'll see a list of articles that were published after this one and cited this article. If you click the TuttLink button it will automatically take you to this article, if we have full text access to Social Science Research July 2015.

In some EBSCOhost databases like Education Source, you will occasionally find "Times Cited" showing in article results. This works similarly to Web of Science. Click "Cited in this Database ..." to see the later articles. Please note that EBSCOhost citation tracking is not as comprehensive as Web of Science.

And finally, Google Scholar also does some citation tracking but in a very messy manner. We suggest using Web of Science for the most comprehensive and sophisticated method.

Tutt Library, Colorado College      Research Help Desk: 719-389-6662, Texting: 719-387-5441, E-mail: tuttref@ColoradoCollege.edu