Skip to main content
Tutt Library Research Guides
Databases - Best Bets
Comprehensive education database from EBSCO, encompassing Education Abstracts, some of ERIC, Professional Development Collection, and other materials.
Coverage: 1887 - current. Comprehensive international database of psychology. Covers the academic, research, and practice literature in psychology. NOTE: You can search both PsycINFO and PsycARTICLES at the same time. Contact Reference Desk x6662.
Coverage: 1966 - current. References to thousands of educational topics. Includes journal articles, books, theses, curriculi, conference papers, and standards and guidelines. Note: this is the U.S. Department of Government website. For partial coverage of ERIC on EBSCO, please see Education Source.
Gender Studies Database
Coverage: pre-1972 - current. Combines the Women's Studies International and Men's Studies databases with sexual diversity issues and gender-engaged scholarship. Source documents include professional journals, conference papers, books, book chapters, government reports, discussion and working papers, theses & dissertations, and freely available full text articles & documents on the Web.
Coverage: late 1800's - most recent 0-10 years. Archival access to many scholarly periodicals. Some titles include current issues while others have a moving wall (full text embargo).
Coverage: 1895 - current. Indexes core sociology journals dating back to 1895. More focused on sociology as a discipline than Sociological Abstracts.
Social Sciences Abstracts With Full Text
Coverage: 1972 - current. International, English-language periodicals in sociology, anthropology, geography, economics, political science, and law. Broader coverage than SocIndex. Upgraded to full text version in July 2017.
Web of Science
Coverage: 1900 - current. Citation-based searching in all disciplines. Includes Science Citation Index (1900-present), Social Sciences Citation Index (1900-present), and Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975-present).
CHECK ARTICLES FOR TYPE - NOT ALL ARE EMPIRICAL!
Disability & Society (and previous title Disability, Handicap & Society)
Educational Studies in Mathematics
Journal of Black Studies
Journal of Latinos & Education
Journal of Negro Education
Journal of Research in Science Teaching
Review of Educational Research
Studies in Art Education
TESOL QUARTERLY [Teachers of English to Speakers of Other Languages]
Tutt Library, Colorado College Research Help Desk: 719-389-6662, Texting: 719-387-5441, E-mail: tuttref@ColoradoCollege.edu