Coverage: N/A. "The Access to Archival Databases (AAD) System gives you online access to electronic records that are highly structured, such as in databases. The initial release of AAD contains material from more than 30 archival series of electronic records, which include over 350 data files totaling well over 50 million unique records. The series selected for AAD identify specific persons, geographic areas, organizations, or dates ..."
Some of these series serve as indexes to accessioned archival records in non-electronic formats ... AAD allows you to search for and retrieve specific records from selected series and data files over the Internet. Using AAD, first select a series of electronic records, then select a specific data file within a series, and search for pertinent records by entering unique values, such as personal names, dates, cities, and states. AAD displays the records that match the search criteria. You may then view the records, print the records, or copy the records to your own computer and save them as an electronic file."
Full text of 270 African American Newspapers from 35+ states. Covers topics such as life in the Antebellum South, growth of the Black church, the Jim Crow Era, the Great Migration, Harlem Renaissance, Civil Rights movement, political and economic empowerment. Based on James P. Danky's bibliography "African-American Newspapers and Periodicals."
Coverage: 1868 - 1945. 'The Atlanta Constitution, historically known as 'the voice of the new south.' Contains first hand accounts of the Reconstruction period and post-war South' to early twentieth century. Full image and full text newspaper articles. (Lexis-Nexis provides text coverage from 1991-present.)
Coverage: 1846 - current. Contains the full text of over 1,400 rare and hard-to-find plays written from the 1850's to the present by playwrights from North America, English-speaking Africa, the Caribbean, and other African Diaspora countries. Search by author, title, subject, date, full-text, etc. Cross-searchable under North American Theater Online.
Coverage: 1700 - 2006. Black Thought and Culture contains 1,200+ sources covering the non-fiction published works of leading African Americans. Includes non-fiction works, interviews, journal articles, speeches, essays, pamphlets, letters and other fugitive material. Also includes the Black Panther newspaper from 1967-1980. Allows for advanced browsing and searching. Some materials are cross-searchable under Social and Cultural History
Coverage: 1920-1984. Collection of documents from the Federal Bureau of Investigation Library. Includes COINTELPROs file on Black Nationalist groups from 1956-1971; also contains FBI files on notable figures such as Malcom X, Paul Robeson, Jesse Jackson and W. E. Dubois, as well as groups such as the Black Panthers and NAACP. Illustrative of conservative and government concerns over communism, socialism, civil rights, and other issues of this era. Part of Archives Unbound.
Database containing FBI files on the Freedom Riders who rode integrated buses through the South in 1961, protesting the non-enforcement of integration laws of public buses. The Riders encountered mob violence and biased courts, but their struggles propelled the Civil Rights Movement forward and helped end segregation in the South. Part of Archives Unbound.
Coverage: 1800's - Provides complete, full-image access to historical articles from the Atlanta Constitution, Chicago Tribune, Los Angeles Times from 1881 and the New York Times from 1851. For current online articles use Lexis-Nexis Academic Universe.