Skip to main content
Tutt Library Research Guides
Historical American Newspapers - Major Mainstream Titles
Historical Newspapers (ProQuest)
Coverage: 1800's - Provides complete, full-image access to historical articles from the Atlanta Constitution, Chicago Tribune, Los Angeles Times from 1881 and the New York Times from 1851. Also includes Wall Street Journal from 1984 to current. Need more recent articles? Use Access World News or Lexis-Nexis Academic Universe.
CC's Proquest Historical Newspapers were selected for geographical representation: East Coast, West Coast, Midwest and South. You may search each paper individually or in any combination. You can also search these newspapers with American Periodicals Series.
Historical American Newspapers - Free Online
Colorado Historic Newspaper Collection
Coverage: 1859 - Search over 90 historic Colorado newspapers from 49 cities and 36 counties throughout the state, published in English, German, Spanish, or Swedish. The database includes digital versions of newspapers found on microfilm at the Colorado Historical Society's Stephen H. Hart Library that were published between 1859 and 1928. New material is usually added once a month. Some issues of the Colorado Springs Gazette are included.
From the Library of Congress. Search and view newspaper pages from 1880-1910 and find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present. Chronicling America is sponsored jointly by the National Endowment for the Humanities and the Library of Congress as part of the National Digital Newspaper Program (NDNP).
More Historical American Newspapers
African American Newspapers, 1827-1998
Full text of 270 African American Newspapers from 35+ states. Covers topics such as life in the Antebellum South, growth of the Black church, the Jim Crow Era, the Great Migration, Harlem Renaissance, Civil Rights movement, political and economic empowerment. Based on James P. Danky's bibliography "African-American Newspapers and Periodicals."
Ethnic American Newspapers, 1799-1971
130+ digitized newspapers in 10 languages from 25 states. Covered topics include Japanese internment camps, significant immigration laws, and contributions of immigrants to American society. Emphasis is on Americans of Czech, French, German, Hungarian, Irish, Italian, Japanese, Jewish, Lithuanian, Polish, Slovak, and Welsh descent.
Hispanic American Newspapers, 1808-1980
Coverage: 1808-1980. Spanish and bilingual Spanish/English newspapers published in the United States from the 19th to 20th centuries. Great source of historical information and culture; also a source of reporting on events in Spanish-speaking countries that were not necessarily covered in English-language newspapers. Part of America's Historical Newspapers.
Coverage: 1728 - 1900. Access to archival fulltext newspapers including the Pennsylvania Gazette, African American and Civil War Newspapers, and Godey's Lady's Book
Nineteenth-Century U.S. Newspapers
Coverage: 1800's. Provides access to approximately 1.7 million pages of primary source newspaper content from the 19th century, featuring full-text content and images from numerous newspapers from a range of urban and rural regions throughout the U.S.
Historical American Periodicals
Use sources only if primary. For example, works written by an eyewitness, or a reprinted speech; not an overview or second-hand account. Ask if you need help determining if a source qualifies as primary in relation to your topic.
Tutt Library, Colorado College Research Help Desk: 719-389-6662, Texting: 719-387-5441, E-mail: tuttref@ColoradoCollege.edu