Skip to main content

Tutt Library Research Guides

 

ES207 Hip Hop and Ya' Don't Stop: Music Databases

ES207 Hip Hop and Ya' Don't Stop

Find Full Text Articles

  Searches for
Full Text

 

If a database doesn't give you the full text of article, just click on the   Tutt Link logo.

 

Tutt Link will search to see if the article is available

 

1) in another Tutt database
2) in print (Tutt's bound periodicals)
3) through Interlibrary Loan 

 

Music Databases

Check out our complete list of recommended  Music Databases

Below is a list of especially useful databases for your course:

Grove Music Online

RILM

Music Index

Entertainment Industry Magazine Archive

 

Although you'll be viewing plenty of videos online we do offer a growing collection of CDs, available for checkout.  These maybe found in the Tiger catalog.

Our streamed audio databases provide sound recordings 24/7 on and off campus.  Check out the Hip-Hop selections in Music Online.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Create a Keyword List

The right keywords help to effectively search catalogs, databases, and the Internet.

  • Start by compiling a list of keywords that represent each concept of your topic.
  • Use more specific terms when searching databases versus catalogs.
  • Try boolean operators (AND, OR, NOT) to link your terms together into a single search.
  • Look for additional terms in your search results. Add these to your list.
  • Search Google Books for keywords in the title, table of contents, subject headings, and text of books.

You may need to do multiple searches in each database to research your topic. However, with patient and persistence, you'll find relevant material.

Leverage Footnotes and Bibliographies

Footnotes and bibliographies are a quick way to find related materials and track the names of popular authors.

Music Librarian

Daryll Stevens's picture
Daryll Stevens
Contact:
The fastest way to reach me is via the "Email Me" link above. You may also reach me at 389-6126, or 389-6560

Keyword Thesaurus

Use all variations of a keyword.

The Library of Congress Authorities and Vocabularies thesaurus will help you find variations of keywords and subject headings.

Tutt Library, Colorado College      Research Help Desk: 719-389-6662, Texting: 719-387-5441, E-mail: tuttref@ColoradoCollege.edu