Skip to main content
Tutt Library Research Guides
On this Home page, you will find all of the research resources available to you through the CC library.
Use the other pages of this guide to help find other types of sources from various locations.
Enjoy the treasure hunt!
Liaison to Anthropology, Feminist & Gender Studies, & History
CC Streaming Videos about Food
The following databases are likely to have sources helpful to your research.
To login from off campus, follow the instructions that will appear on the screen after you click on a database. The login is based on your CC network username and on your Tiger Number, which is the longer number on your Gold Card.
- Academic Search Complete
Coverage: 1865 - current. Large database with extensive full text access to journals, in addition to abstracts and indexing. Subject coverage is general and broad.
- Access to archival databases (AAD) system
- Accessible Archives
Coverage: 1728 - 1900. Access to archival fulltext newspapers including the Pennsylvania Gazette, African American and Civil War Newspapers, and Godey's Lady's Book
- Access World News: Research Collection
Comprehensive news coverage at the international, national, state and regional levels. Dates covered: varies by title; older news sources often start in 1985, but some articles date back from the early twentieth century.
Coverage: 1982 - current. This resource covers 'all aspects of agriculture and allied disciplines, including plant and animal sciences, forestry, entomology, soil and water resources, agricultural economics, agricultural engineering, agricultural products, alternative farming practices, and food and nutrition.
- Alternative Press Index
Coverage: 1969 - current. Alternative Press Index is a classic bibliographic database of articles from hundreds of international alternative, radical, and left periodicals. API is now part of EBSCOHOST in two databases: Alternative Press Archives, 1969-1990; and Alternative Press Index, 1991-current. The link above will search both simultaneously; API is cross-searchable with other EBSCOHOST databases.
- Anthropological index online: anthropological index to current periodicals in the Museum of Mankind Library (incorporating the former Royal Anthropological Institute Library)
Coverage: 1970 - current. An index to Anthropology journals held by the Museum of Mankind Library.
- Anthropological literature: ANL
Coverage: Late 19th century - current Indexes articles from approximately 900 journals in the fields of anthropology and archaeology.
Coverage: 1888 - AnthroSource is an online resource for core journals in the field of anthropology, developed by the American Anthropological Association (AAA). One may access complete archives of all AAA journals and current issues of 11 of the AAA's most popular journals, including American Anthropologist, Cultural Anthropology and American Ethnologist.
- AP Images
Over one million photographs provided by the Associated Press. Photos range from up-to-the-minute to historical.
- eHRAF collection of ethnography: a world of cultures at your fingertips
Coverage: varies. HRAF Collection of Ethnography. The cultural database includes full text of books, chapters, journal articles. Useful for Anthropology, Sociology, Religion, and Women Studies.
- Foreign Relations Between Latin America and the Caribbean States, 1930-1944
Coverage: 1930-1944. Organized by country, this collection covers a wide range of viewpoints on political, social, and economic issues. It sheds light on the foreign relations interactions between Central American and South American countries. In the Caribbean, Cuba, Haiti, and the Dominican Republic are represented. This collection includes cables, memoranda, correspondence, reports and analyzes, and treaties. Documents are from the U.S. State Department. Part of Archives Unbound.
- Gale Virtual Reference Library
Includes hundreds of specialized reference books on a variety of subjects. The contents are all available full text. Covers a wide variety of subject areas in the humanities, social sciences and sciences.
- Going global
Coverage: current. Covers over 20 countries worldwide. Describes working environment, resume requirements, employment trends, cost of living, cultural factors, and much more
- Handbook of Latin American Studies
Coverage: 1935 - current Annotated bibliography of scholarly works on Latin American studies. Online version of the print title, volume 1 - present. Multidisciplinary topics. Covers humanities and social sciences.
- Hispanic American Newspapers, 1808-1980
Coverage: 1808-1980. Spanish and bilingual Spanish/English newspapers published in the United States from the 19th to 20th centuries. Great source of historical information and culture; also a source of reporting on events in Spanish-speaking countries that were not necessarily covered in English-language newspapers. Part of America's Historical Newspapers.
- ICPSR: International Consortium for Political and Social Research
Coverage: N/A. Provides large data sets such as public opinion polls, attitude surveys, health information, results of research projects. Data may require use of specialized software such as SPSS or SAS.
Coverage: late 1800's - most recent 0-10 years. Archival access to many scholarly periodicals. Some titles include current issues while others have a moving wall (full text embargo).
- JSTOR Global Plants
Database of plant specimens contributed by herbaria. Also includes botany-related primary sources.
- Latin American Newspapers
Coverage: 1805 - 1922. More than 35 fully searchable newspapers published in the 19th and early 20th centuries from Argentina, Brazil, Chile, Cuba, Guatemala, Mexico, Peru, Venezuela and elsewhere.
- Newspaper Source
Coverage: 1985 - current. Full text for more than 40 major U.S. and international newspapers; also contains selective full text for more than 330 regional U.S. newspapers and full text transcripts from television and radio news
- Oxford Reference Bringing together 2 million digitized entries across Oxford’s Dictionaries, Companions and Encyclopedias, Oxford Reference is the premier online reference product, spanning 25 different subject areas.
- PAIS International
Coverage: 1915 - current. Articles, books, conference proceedings, government documents, book chapters, and statistical directories about public affairs
Coverage: N/A. Citation management system.
- Social Sciences Abstracts
Coverage: 1983 - current. International, English-language periodicals in sociology, anthropology, geography, economics, political science, and law. Broader coverage than SocIndex.
Coverage: 1895 - current. Indexes core sociology journals dating back to 1895. More focused on sociology as a discipline than Sociological Abstracts.
Coverage: n/a. Springer reference books, frequently updated. Content focuses on science, technology and medicine.
- UN documentation centre
Coverage: N/A. Official records, reports, resolutions, meeting records, sales publications, press releases with dates from the General Assembly, Councils, and Internation Court of Justice.
- Web of Science
Coverage: 1900 - current. Citation-based searching in all disciplines. Includes Science Citation Index (1900-present), Social Sciences Citation Index (1900-present), and Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975-present). Web of Science differs from Web of Knowledge by focusing on these three indexes.
EBooks of Interest
Tutt Library has over 70 e-Books about various aspects of food.
Find the .PDF of the complete title list in the box below.
Getting Copies of Articles from Illiad
- Have the article's bibliographic information (title, author, journal, volume, issue, page numbers, etc.) in hand.
- Before you request any materials, check Find Journals to determine if you can get the full text of your article electronically. (Remember that you are searching for the JOURNAL name, not the article's title.)
- If CC does not have the journal in our databases, then enter the ILLiad system to request the article from Interlibrary Loan. You will have to create an ILLiad account if this is the first time you have used the system. Once you have an account, log in.
- From the Main Menu, click on "Article" under "New Request."
- Fill in the bibliographic information requested. Fields marked with an asterisk are required.
- If you have any questions, email Shelley or chat with a librarian via the library's home web page.
Tutt Library, Colorado College Research Help Desk: 719-389-6662, Texting: 719-387-5441, E-mail: tuttref@ColoradoCollege.edu