Skip to main content
Tutt Library Research Guides
Coverage: 1977 - current. Access to popular press material such as newspaper articles. Also contains law review articles. NOT FOR WALK-IN USE PER LICENSE. Reference librarian on duty may consult for a public patron at the Research Desk computer.
Formerly known as Lexis Nexis Academic Universe, which was switched off 1/1/2019. Need to use the old version? Contact Diane Westerfield firstname.lastname@example.org
Best Bets for Databases
Political Science Complete
Coverage: 1887-current. Political science database with a global scope. Contains full text for some journals, reference books, monographs and conference papers, in addition to abstracts and indexes for many journals.
Coverage: late 1800's - up to most recent years; can limit to political journals.
Project Muse Scholarly Journals Online
Coverage: varies. Project Muse Standard Collection (so not all) of core scholarly titles; current and back issues; may limit to political journals.
Ciao: Columbia International Affairs Online
Coverage: varies. Journal articles and papers relating to International Affairs.
Coverage: 1915 - current. Articles, books, conference proceedings, government documents, book chapters, and statistical directories about public affairs.
Coverage: 1967 - current. Books, journals, working papers, statistics, and glossaries published by the OECD (Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development). Users can search by country, theme, date, content type, and more. The OECD FactBook is available from 2005 to current, with data tables and graphs that can be exported to Excel. This database was formerly known as SourceOECD.
Africa Focused Databases
Africa Knowledge Project
Journals and databases from the Africa Resource Center focusing on Africa and the African Diaspora. Content includes JENdA: A Journal of Culture and African Women Studies, Journal on African Philosophy, and the African Music Database.
African Women Bibliographic Database
Coverage: 1980s- current. Indexes English language materials: books and government documents; articles in edited books; periodical and journal articles; theses and dissertations; conference papers; videocassettes. Some full text.
Tutt Library, Colorado College Research Help Desk: 719-389-6662, Texting: 719-387-5441, E-mail: tuttref@ColoradoCollege.edu