Skip to main content
Tutt Library Research Guides
How to Approach Your Annotation
- What topics are covered?
- What are the main arguments the author(s) make?
- What makes you think this source is reliable?
- Do you find any evidence of bias?
- Who are the authors?
- Who is the audience?
- What is the purpose?
- How does this source relate to your research?
- How useful is it to your research?
Adapted for Owl Purdue's Annotated Bibliography website: http://owl.english.purdue.edu/owl/resource/614/01)
What is an annotated bibliography?
- An annotated bibliography is a list of sources formatted in proper citation style and arranged alphabetically. Each citation is followed by a paragraph about the source cited. The paragraph includes a description and evaluation of the source as well as a discussion of its relevance to your research.
How do abstracts and annotations differ?
- An abstract is a summary of the main arguments in an information source. You often find abstracts at the beginning of scholarly journal articles.
- Annotations include a summary of the information in a source as well as a discussion of its reliability and relevance.
What is the value of annotating your sources?
- In order to write an annotation, you must read the source carefully and critically. This will help you gather reliable and credible sources for your research.
- When you collect reliable sources, you will become familiar with the issues relating to your research.
My bibliography isn't due for awhile. Why should I start now?
- By searching for books and articles now, you will see if there is sufficient information published to help you with your research.
- The sources you gather and read will help you develop your topic.
- By examining sources you will determine if the scope of your topic is too narrow or too broad.
- You might need to borrow materials (articles and books) from other libraries. You will need to budget your time and plan ahead to do this.
Adapted from Owl Purdue's Annotated Bibliography website: http://owl.english.purdue.edu/owl/resource/614/01/)
OWL at Purdue: Online Writing Lab
Tutt Library, Colorado College Research Help Desk: 719-389-6662, Texting: 719-387-5441, E-mail: tuttref@ColoradoCollege.edu