Skip to main content
Tutt Library Research Guides
Books on Critical Media @Tutt Library
Women's Studies: Core Books Database
Project of the Association of College & Research Libraries - Women's Studies Section. Book titles currently in print are selected by academic librarians who volunteer to maintain a subject area.
Selected Books of Interest on Female/Feminine Image @ Tutt Library
Google Books and Other Ebook Sources
Google is not the only wholesale digitization effort going on. Microsoft, Yahoo, and numerous university presses and other publishers teamed up in Fall 2005 to form the Open Content Alliance (OCA; http://www.opencontentalliance.org/) The OCA intends to build a multilingual and multimedia collection. OCA books will in the future be accessible directly through the OCA website and indexed through Yahoo, but are best browed or searched at present through the "texts" section of the Internet Archive site at http://www.archive.org/details/texts.
There are also projects that attempt to index available e-books. The Digital Book Index (DBI) at http://www.digitalbookindex.org/ has kept up reasonably well with existing projects, and the Online Books Page (http://digital.library.upenn.edu/books/) links to 25,000 free e-books, but these figures will be dwarfed by the Google and OCA projects.
The Celebration of Women Writers
The Celebration of Women Writers is a project developed in collaboration with the Online Books Page. Women writers' books digitized under the auspices of the project or linked to from the project are also indexed in the Online Books Page. In addition, Celebration of Women Writers links to biographical and bibliographical information about women writers.
Digital Book Index
The Digital Book Index has kept up reasonably well with existing projects - as of this writing it has indexed 130,000 books, of which 90,000 are freely accessible.
Hathi Trust Digital Library
Repository of research libraries
OCA books are best browsed or searched through the "texts" section of the Internet Archives.
Online Books Page
The Online Books Page links to over 1 million free e-books and is updated frequently.
Open Content Alliance
Microsoft, Yahoo, and numerous university presses and other publishers teamed up in Fall 2005 to form the Open Content Alliance, which intends to build a multilingual and multimedia collection.
Use Tiger to find books & more at Colorado College
Tiger, the CC library catalog, will tell you what we own (books, DVDs, CDs, etc.) or subscribe to (journals, databases, etc.) at Colorado College. It will not help you find articles in journals.
Use Prospector to request books & more from across Colorado
If you can't find a book, DVD, CD, or other item you need in Tiger, you can use Prospector to search libraries across Colorado and then request that they be sent to the Tutt Library circulation desk for you to check out here.
Find These Books on Women & Gender in Media @ Tutt Library
Tutt Library, Colorado College Research Help Desk: 719-389-6662, Texting: 719-387-5441, E-mail: tuttref@ColoradoCollege.edu