Skip to main content

Tutt Library Research Guides

 

EC Econometrics: Finding Journal Literature

Examination of methods of analysis commonly used in economics and business.

1: Find review/survey articles

Use advanced techniques in EconLit:

Step A:

Search with the JEL subject classification system
and the EconLit Thesaurus to identify subject terms.

Step B:

Use the Index of Journal Titles in EconLit to perform a search for a particular journal

  •  Journal of Economic Perspectives OR Journal of Economic Literature

Step C:

Use the History search in EconLit to combine the first two searches.

Step D:

Browse the results for relevant review/survey articles.

2: Mine bibliographies

Footnotes and Bibliographies

  ... are a quick way to find related materials and track authors.

 

Two components:

1. what was cited in the orginal article
2. find out who has cited an article since it was published

 

track

Option 1: Examine the references in articles you've already found, then use Find Journals to get access or request that article via ILL.

Option 2: Using those articles you've already found, search the Web of Science and Google Scholar for other articles that cite them. Note possible data sources.

3: Searching options

Search more effectively in bibliographic databases

When you search for articles, don't rely strictly on keyword searches.

Authors: After identifying important articles, search for more articles by those authors.

Descriptors: Search in databases (like EconLit) for an article you've read.
Look at the descriptors used by the database to describe it.
Perform new searches based on those descriptors.

Organizations: Organizations publish reports, too. If you identify a relevant organization, search for that organization as an author.

Advanced Search Screen: there are many options such as document type (case studies, book chapters, etc.), language or geographic limiters, NASIC codes, and so on.

Web of Science

Web of Science - contains 3 Scholarly Citation Indexes:

  • Science (1900-present)
  • Social Sciences (1900-present)
  • Arts & Humanities (1975-present)

Find influential articles and track citation usage.
Find what newer articles have used the original it since it was published.

Recommended for advanced users.

A Citation Map with forward and backward views. Source: Web of Science (Thomson Reuters)

 


  - note the "Cited by" links

 

Tutt Library, Colorado College      Research Help Desk: 719-389-6662, Texting: 719-387-5441, E-mail: tuttref@ColoradoCollege.edu