Skip to main content
Tutt Library Research Guides
Tutt Library holds DVDs and VHS tapes, which current CC staff can check out. Please see the circulation policy for DVDs. You may also order DVDs, VHS tapes and CDs via Prospector, if the holding library permits circulation of the item on Prospector.
Films on demand
Coverage: pre-1990 to current. Films on Demand subscription to the following categories: Humanities & Social Sciences, Business & Economics, Science & Mathematics, and Health & Medicine. Hundreds of documentaries and educational films viewable as a whole or by segment. Register for an account to build playlists and set preferences. If you have trouble viewing from off campus, please contact the Reference Desk at x6662.
Over one million photographs provided by the Associated Press. Photos range from up-to-the-minute to historical.
Coverage: Prehistory - current Hundreds of thousands of digital images with descriptive information covering painting, sculpture, photography, decorative arts, architecture, and design, as well as many other forms of worldwide visual culture. Save groups of images for later use in ARTstor, or download or print to use in class projects, presentations, and papers. First-time users must register for an account from a computer on campus.
Freely available on the Internet
Seay Music Library has music CDs, scores, and other materials that current staff can check out. We also subscribe to streaming audio databases that current staff can listen to for free.
Coverage: N/A. Music Online is the broadest and most comprehensive online music resource that cross-searches all of your library's Alexander Street Press music databases. The collections include: American Song, Classical Music Library, Contemporary World Music, Garland Encyclopedia of World Music Online, Jazz Music Library, Smithsonian Global Sound for Libaries; plus complementary access to Popular Music.
Coverage: N/A. American Song is an aural history database that allows people to hear and feel the music from America's past. The database includes songs by and about American Indians, miners, immigrants, slaves, children, pioneers, and cowboys. Included in the database are the songs of Civil Rights, political campaigns, Prohibition, the Revolutionary War, the Civil War, anti-war protests, and more. Currently it includes 4,058 albums, equaling 68,981 tracks; more tracks will be added regularly.
Classical Music Library
Coverage: Recordings from 1910-current. Growing collection of over 60,000+ tracks, with multiple versions of many major works. Functionality includes playlists and mobile listening. Part of Music Online.
Contemporary World Music
Coverage: N/A. Contemporary World Music delivers the sounds of all regions from every continent. The database will contain important genres such as reggae, worldbeat, neo-traditional, world fusion, Balkanic jazz, African film, Bollywood, Arab swing and jazz, and other genres such as traditional music - Indian classical, fado, flamenco, klezmer, zydeco, gospel, gagaku, and more. Currently including 2,148 albums, equaling 29,521 tracks, it is growing regularly.
Jazz Music Library
Coverage: N/A. Jazz Music Library is the largest and most comprehensive collection of streaming jazz available online with thousands of jazz artists, ensembles, albums, and genres. This ever-expanding collection currently includes more than 5,041 albums and 60,292 tracks.
Smithsonian Global Sound for Libraries
Coverage: N/A. Smithsonian Global Sound for Libraries, produced in partnership with Smithsonian Folkways Recordings, is a virtual encyclopedia of the world's musical and aural traditions. The collection provides educators, students, and interested listeners with an unprecedented variety of online resources that support the creation, continuity, and preservation of diverse musical forms. This growing collection includes over 2,812 albums, equaling 41,082 tracks.
Database of American Recorded American Music: DRAM
Coverage: N/A. Provides streamed audio recordings of over 1,500 CDs (9,800 compositions). Basic collection includes the diverse catalogue of American music recordings by New World Records-- from folk to opera, Native American to jazz, 19th century classical to early rock, musical theater, contemporary, electronic and beyond. Includes liner notes and essays. Currently available via on-campus access only.
Tutt Library, Colorado College Research Help Desk: 719-389-6662, Texting: 719-387-5441, E-mail: tuttref@ColoradoCollege.edu