Skip to main content
Tutt Library Research Guides
Magazines & Journals @ Tutt
Tutt Library holds many magazines and journals in print, microform and electronic format. Types of publications include scholarly, trade, and popular. Print periodicals and microforms are on the 2nd floor. Current issues of popular magazines can be found in the Magazine Lounge. Subscription electronic titles can be accessed from on campus, or off-campus by current CC staff.
Search Tiger for journal titles (includes magazines)
Why no online access for many popular magazines?
Many popular magazines and trade journals, such as the New Yorker and Foreign Policy, are set up for online access on the individual level, rather than the institutional level. Access is granted via subscriber name and password. Academic libraries cannot freely share this login. If the publisher chooses not to sell their full text content to a company like EBSCO, we cannot grant widespread access. For emergency cases we may be able to log in at the Research Desk and get an article for you.
Coverage: 1997-current. Online version of The Economist.
Coverage: 1843 - four years ago. HISTORICAL ARCHIVE. Digitized version of the famous magazine which has analyzed British and global affairs for 150+ years.
National Geographic Magazine Archive
Digitized National Geographic, from the first issue published in 1888 to present. Search, browse and print content.
The flagship Nature journal. Some other Nature journal coverage is included with our subscriptions.
New York Times (current)
NOTE: CC Student Life has arranged with the New York Times for free CC accounts (Academic Pass). Register at http://nytimesineducation.com/access-nyt/
and select Colorado College; YOU MUST USE YOUR CC EMAIL TO REGISTER. Librarians have access to Tutt Library's subscription NYT that comes with the library's daily delivery. Plain-text NYT is available on NexisUni at https://coloradocollege.idm.oclc.org/login?url=https://advance.lexis.com/api/search?source=MTA2OTUwNQ&context=1516831
New York Times (ProQuest Historical Newspapers)
Coverage: 1851 - 3 years from current. Provides full-image access to historical articles from the New York Times from 1851 to 3 years from present.
Limited online access to the New Yorker though EBSCO. Current print issues and microform available through the library.
Online access to the journal Science, from the AAAS (American Association for the Advancement of Science).
Published by Springer-Nature. Current issues available in print.
Tutt Library, Colorado College Research Help Desk: 719-389-6662, Texting: 719-387-5441, E-mail: tuttref@ColoradoCollege.edu