Skip to main content
Tutt Library Research Guides
Tutt Library subscribes to a plethora of databases. Because CC participates in a statewide library deal, we receive access to a number of databases meant to serve public and school libraries.
For an alphabetic listing, see the Databases A-Z LibGuide.
For subject search, see Databases by Subject.
Academic Research Databases
Academic Search Complete
Coverage: 1865 - current. Large database with extensive full text access to journals, in addition to abstracts and indexing. Subject coverage is general and broad.
We subscribe to dozens of research databases and they are all available for current CC staff use. Below are a few of the more popular ones.
Coverage: late 1800's - most recent 0-10 years. Archival access to many scholarly periodicals. Some titles include current issues while others have a moving wall (full text embargo).
Allows searching across multiple ProQuest databases, plus easier searching by language, date, document type, full text, etc. Now includes American Periodicals; Entertainment Industry Magazine Archives; Index Islamicus; International Bibliography of Art (IBA); Political Affairs International (PAIS); ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Atlanta Constitution, Chicago Tribune, Los Angeles Times, New York Times; Wall Street Journal; ProQuest ebooks (formerly ebrary and EBL).
Research Databases for Kids
Middle Search Plus
For middle and junior high school students, with 140 full text titles (with Lexile reading level), as well as historical essays, 84,700 biographies, over 235,000 images, and 100,000 primary source documents.
Primary Search contains full text for over 80 popular, elementary school magazines. All full text articles are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles). Also includes the Encyclopedia of Animals, Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia, the American Heritage Children's Dictionary, and thousands of relevant photos, maps and flags.
Research Databases for High School Students
History Reference Center
Full text history reference database designed for secondary schools, public libraries, junior/community colleges and undergraduate research. The database features full text for more than 1,990 reference books, encyclopedias and non-fiction books from leading history publishers.
MAS Ultra-School Edition
Specifically designed for high school students with full text of 500 periodicals, 350 reference books, 100,000 primary source documents, 84,700 biographies - plus over 235,000 photos, maps, and flags.
Points of View Reference Center
Provides a series of essays that present multiple sides of a current issue. The database provides more than 290 topics, each with an overview (objective background/description), point (argument), counterpoint (opposing argument), and Critical Thinking Guide. The database also offers guides to debate, developing arguments and writing position papers.
Science Reference Center
Comprehensive research database that provides easy access to a multitude of full-text science-oriented content. Designed to meet every student’s science research needs, Science Reference Center contains full text for hundreds of science encyclopedias, reference books, periodicals and other sources. Science Reference Center also satisfies the demand for standards-based content by providing teachers and librarians with articles correlated to state and national curriculum standards.
Auto Repair Reference Center
ARRC contains repair and maintenance information on most major manufacturers of domestic and imported vehicles. New repair procedures, TSBs and updates are added to the product on a regular basis. All of the content in ARRC has been created by ASE certified technicians.
Consumer Health Complete
Designed to support the information needs of patients, and to foster an overall understanding of health-related topics. CHC provides content covering all areas of health and wellness from mainstream medicine to the many perspectives of complementary, holistic and integrated medicine.
Legal Information Reference Center
Contains hundreds of full-text publications and thousands of legal forms. The full-text legal reference books are provided through Nolo, the nation’s oldest and most-respected provider of legal information for consumers and small businesses.
Business & Financial Databases
Business source complete
Coverage: 1886 - current. A comprehensive source of indexing and abstracts for over 3,000 periodicals, most full text. Also includes monographs, country economic reports, industry reports, company profiles, working papers, SWOT analyses and author profiles. Supplemented by Regional Business News and seminar videos. Coverage of marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance, econometrics, economics, international business, and more.
U.S., Canadian and international company information plus census data and White Pages directory. This database can be used not only for business research but also as a job search tool. Incorporates Dun & Bradstreet Private Companies.
Coverage: N/A. Equity research reports, updated weekly, providing analysis and buy, sell and hold recommendations from Ford Equity Research. Provided by Mergent.
U.S. and International company and industry information. Reports can be downloaded into Excel. DOWNLOADING LARGE DATA SETS? Please use on-campus with this link: http://www.mergentonline.com/compsearch.asp
For private company information, please consult Mergent Intellect which incorporates the Dun & Bradstreet Private Companies Database.
Coverage: current. Up-to-date prices for stocks, mutual funds, and ETFs (exchange traded funds). Analyst reports. Morningstar's strength lies in its analysis of mutual funds. The Portfolio X-Ray tool lets you choose a group of stocks and funds to judge the balance of investments in a portfolio. NOTE: limited to 1 user at a time.
Suite of databases includes U.S. Businesses, Canadian Businesses and U.S. Consumers / Lifestyles. Useful for business and sociology research and mapping. Coverage: N/A.
Tutt Library, Colorado College Research Help Desk: 719-389-6662, Texting: 719-387-5441, E-mail: tuttref@ColoradoCollege.edu