Skip to main content
Tutt Library Research Guides
Atlases & Cartographic Resources @ Tutt Library
MAP Vost (an Introduction)
Let me introduce you to a new bio-optical knowledge recording and dissemination system, responding to the trade name : MAP. "Map" is an unprecedented technological revolution...
Online Map Websites & Resources (Southwest and U.S.)
The National Map
The National Map is a collaborative effort among the USGS and other Federal, State, and local partners to improve and deliver topographic information for the Nation. It has many uses ranging from recreation to scientific analysis to emergency response. The National Map is easily accessible for display on the Web, as products and services, and as downloadable data.
National Register of Historic Places
The National Register of Historic Places is the official list of the Nation's historic places worthy of preservation. Authorized by the National Historic Preservation Act of 1966, the National Park Service's National Register of Historic Places is part of a national program to coordinate and support public and private efforts to identify, evaluate, and protect America's historic and archeological resources.
New Mexico Register of Historic Places
Generally, properties eligible for listing in the National Register are at least 50 years old. Properties less than 50 years of age must be exceptionally important to be considered eligible for listing.
Atlas of Historic New Mexico Maps
This website contains twenty historic maps of New Mexico, annotated with descriptions by the mapmakers and by other people living, working, and exploring in New Mexico at that time.
Rocky Mountain Online Archive
The Rocky Mountain Online Archive is your source of information about archival collections in Colorado, New Mexico and Wyoming. Specialized guides, called finding aids, give detailed descriptions of primary source materials located at twenty-seven different repositories. Search the finding aids to discover what historical materials are available for study and where those collections are located.
“Combines satellite imagery, maps and the power of Google Search to put the world’s geographic information at your fingertips.” Need to download Google Earth before using.
Colorado Springs Online Maps
Includes “CityView,” allowing users to view orthophotography maps of Colorado Springs through a dynamic interface. Also, online city maps on a variety of topics, including political boundaries, open space, geohazards, bike trails, police maps and much more.
MapQuest and Google Maps
Maps, driving directions from one address to another, location of businesses.
Historical Atlas of the Twentieth Century
A variety of maps, some interactive, which chart socio-economic trends, systems of government, and cities throughout the 20th Century.
National Atlas of the United States
Interactive maps providing sections on elevation and terrain, exotic species maps, animated vegetation growth and interactive maps. Can download map layers.
U.S. Census Bureau Maps and Cartographic Resources
Maps and services from the U.S. Bureau of the Census.
Look up places in the United States by name or zip code, then get a detailed map or census data.
History Databases by Geographic Region
(stock photo Globe Staff Illustration)
Cartography Resources Online
Artstor's images include historic maps. Limit to "Geography" in the browse classification and then type in "map"
David Rumsey Historical Map Collection
Part of the Insight Collection, spectacular, large-scale images of historic maps
Consortium of libraries to preserve printed works digitally. Limitable to "maps."
Maplandia.com provides the searchable world gazetteer based on Google Maps, the most comprehensive online satellite imagery ever available. More than 2 000 000 places all over the world are divided into many geographical categories according to continents, countries and administrative regions.
Maps of the Pimeria: Early Cartography of the Southwest
This website illustrates and describes a selection of original rare and historic maps chosen from the Map Collection of the University of Arizona Library. They portray a region of New Spain once called Pimería and chronicle four centuries of mapping from the earliest map of the region in the collection, a 1556 view of North and South America, up to the Gadsden Purchase of 1854 when Pimería Alta--or southern Arizona--was acquired by the United States from Mexico.
Old Maps Online
The OldMapsOnline Portal is an easy-to-use gateway to historical maps in libraries around the world. It allows the user to search for online digital historical maps across numerous different collections via a geographical search. Search by typing a place-name or by clicking in the map window, and narrow by date. The search results provide a direct link to the map image on the website of the host institution.
World Wide Web Virtual Maps
One of the oldest (and perhaps the most amateurishly laid out!) collections of virtual maps. Still an excellent source.
Tutt Library, Colorado College Research Help Desk: 719-389-6662, Texting: 719-387-5441, E-mail: tuttref@ColoradoCollege.edu