Skip to main content
Tutt Library Research Guides
Find These Books @ Tutt Library
National Geographic : The Biology of Homosexuality
NatGeo explains how one's sexual orientation is determined during embryonic development. They look at how it is possible for one identical twin to be gay and the other to be straight. They address a new branch of Genetics called, Epigenetics. This area of Genetics explores and explains how one's DNA sequence is NOT the only factor in one's phenotypic (actual) outcome.
Gay? You were born this way!
It's one of the most significant studies of the year: the discovery of a biological reason for why people are gay. If confirmed, it could drastically impact the gay rights debate not just in the US, but around the world. Laci Green and the whole DNews team were floored when news of the study began to circulate... Laci breaks down the findings.
DNews is a show about the science of everyday life.They post new videos three times a day, every weekday.
Multimedia & Electronic Resources @ Tutt Library
Databases and Web Sites
Academic Search Complete
Coverage: 1865 - current. Large database with extensive full text access to journals, in addition to abstracts and indexing. Subject coverage is general and broad.
Gender Studies Database
Coverage: pre-1972 - current. Combines the Women's Studies International and Men's Studies databases with sexual diversity issues and gender-engaged scholarship. Source documents include professional journals, conference papers, books, book chapters, government reports, discussion and working papers, theses & dissertations, and freely available full text articles & documents on the Web.
History of science, technology and medicine
Coverage: N/A. An international bibliography for the history of science, technology and medicine, reflecting the influence of these fields on society and culture from prehistory to the present. Includes journal articles, conference proceedings, books, book reviews and dissertations.
LGBT Science Resources
LGBT Science is an ongoing project of Truth Wins Out (TWO) exploring the latest research and interviewing key scientists who have studied human sexuality.
Coverage: 1950 - current. Journals published internationally, covering all areas of medicine.
Science Reference Center
Comprehensive research database that provides easy access to a multitude of full-text science-oriented content. Designed to meet every student’s science research needs, Science Reference Center contains full text for hundreds of science encyclopedias, reference books, periodicals and other sources. Science Reference Center also satisfies the demand for standards-based content by providing teachers and librarians with articles correlated to state and national curriculum standards.
Coverage: varies. Full-text articles online from Elsevier and Academic Press journals. Summary information about articles from all other Elsevier titles and some other publishers. Coverage includes all science areas and many social sciences and humanities areas.
Coverage: 1907 - current. SciFinder Web retrieves information contained in databases produced by Chemical Abstracts Service (CAS) and Medline. It contains journal articles, patents, conference proceedings, dissertations, technical reports, books, and more, covering a wide spectrum of science-related information, including chemistry, biochemistry, and chemical engineering.
Web of Science
Coverage: 1900 - current. Citation-based searching in all disciplines. Includes Science Citation Index (1900-present), Social Sciences Citation Index (1900-present), and Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975-present).
Tutt Library, Colorado College Research Help Desk: 719-389-6662, Texting: 719-387-5441, E-mail: tuttref@ColoradoCollege.edu