Skip to main content
Tutt Library Research Guides
Selected Books @ Tutt Library
Web Sites Focusing on LGBTQ Histories
People with a History: An Online Guide to Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, and Trans* History
Hosted by Fordham UniversityPeople with a History presents the history of lesbians, gay men, bisexuals and transgendered people [=LGBT]. It includes hundreds of original texts, discussions, and images, and addresses LGBT history in all periods, and in all regions of the world.
LGBT History Month
Every October, LGBT History Month celebrates the achievements of 31 lesbian, gay, bisexual or transgender Icons. Each day in October, a new LGBT Icon is featured with a video, bio, bibliography, downloadable images and other resources. This site also provides resources for presentations and exhibits.
American Historical Association's Committee on Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, and Transgender History
Founded in 1979, this Committee promotes the study of homosexuality in the past and present by facilitating communication among scholars in a variety of disciplines working on a variety of cultures.
Lesbian Herstory Arches
The Lesbian Herstory Archives is home to the world's largest collection of materials by and about lesbians and their communities
GLBT Historical Society
Located in San Francisco, California, the The Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual Transgender Historical Society (GLBTHS) collects, preserves, and interprets the history of GLBT people and the communities that support them
ONE National Gay and Lesbian Archives
ONE National Gay & Lesbian Archives houses the world's largest research library on Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual, and Transgendered heritage and concerns.
The Kinsey Institue for Research in Sex, Gender, and Reproduction
The Kinsey Institute at Indiana University works towards advancing sexual health and knowledge worldwide. For over 60 years, the institute has been a trusted source for investigating and informing the world about critical issues in sex, gender and reproduction.
Trans History provides a timeline of historical dates and events of the transgender community. A link to the Trans “Sense of Community” Survey is also available.
Reference Books Available @ Tutt
Tutt Library, Colorado College Research Help Desk: 719-389-6662, Texting: 719-387-5441, E-mail: tuttref@ColoradoCollege.edu