Skip to main content
Tutt Library Research Guides
The following list includes just a few journal titles that may be helpful in your research.
The following interdisciplinary databases are a good place to begin your search:
Gender Studies Database
Coverage: pre-1972 - current
Combines the Women’s Studies International and Men’s Studies databases with sexual diversity issues and gender-engaged scholarship. Source documents include professional journals, conference papers, books, book chapters, government reports, discussion and working papers, theses & dissertations, and freely available full text articles & documents on the Web.
Academic Search Complete
Large database with extensive full text access to journals, in addition to abstracts and indexing. Subject coverage is general and broad. Upgraded from Academic Search Premier.
Archival access to many scholarly periodicals. Some titles include current issues while others have a "moving wall" imposed on them.
Retrieves citations to a wide variety of research papers, thesis, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports. Check for possible full text by using Colorado College Links or Colorado College e-texts buttons next to the citations.
Alternative Press Index
Coverage: 1969 - current. Alternative Press Index is a classic bibliographic database of articles from hundreds of international alternative, radical, and left periodicals. API is now part of EBSCOHOST in two databases: Alternative Press Archives, 1969-1990; and Alternative Press Index, 1991-current. The link above will search both simultaneously; API is cross-searchable with other EBSCOHOST databases.
Women and Social Movements in the United States 1600 - 2000: Scholar's Edition
Coverage: 1600 - 2000. Growing collection of documents related to women and social movements in U.S. history. Includes primary source documents, images, dictionary of movements, biographical dictionary, chronology, reviews, notes, and teaching tools. Organized for in-depth browsing and searching.
Coverage: varies. Project Muse Standard Collection of core scholarly titles from John Hopkins University. Offers current and back issues. Please note: we do not subscribe to the Premium Collection. We have access to most, but not all, Project Muse titles.
Google for Keywords
Search Google to find keywords related to your topic.
Find Journals by Title
You can see if Tutt Library subscribes to a journal by searching Find Journals. If the title you're looking for is available online in one of our databases, you'll be able to search within it to find articles.
Find the Full Text
If a database doesn't give you the full text of an article, just click on the Tutt Link logo.
Tutt Link will search to see if the article is available
1) in another Tutt database
2) in print (second floor)
3) through Interlibrary Loan
Tutt Link FAQs
Interlibrary Loan (ILL)
Nearly 50 percent of articles requested through ILL arrive in 24-48 hours. Sign up now for an account!
Leverage Footnotes and Bibliographies
Footnotes and bibliographies are a quick way to find related materials and track popular authors.
Tutt Library, Colorado College Research Help Desk: 719-389-6662, Texting: 719-387-5441, E-mail: tuttref@ColoradoCollege.edu