Skip to main content
Tutt Library Research Guides
Find These Reference Resources @ Tutt Library
These Reference Books can be found on 1st Floor North; they are for Library Use Only, and can not be checked out. There are copy machines and scanners on the same floor.
Use Tiger to find books & more at Colorado College
Tiger, the CC library catalog, will tell you what we own (books, DVDs, CDs, etc.) or subscribe to (journals, databases, etc.) at Colorado College. It will not help you find articles in journals.
Use Prospector to request books & more from across Colorado
If you can't find a book, DVD, CD, or other item you need in Tiger, you can use Prospector to search libraries across Colorado and then request that they be sent to the Tutt Library circulation desk for you to check out here.
Use WorldCat to request books from throughout the U.S.
When the materials you want are not available in TIGER or Prospector, you can search in WorldCat and request them through Interlibrary Loan.
- WorldCat lists library holdings throughout the nation
- Items usually arrive in 5-10 business days
Arthur and Elizabeth Schlesinger Library on the History of Women in America
Radcliffe Institute for Advanced Study at Harvard University. Rich in the areas of women's rights movements, feminism, health, social reform, education, professional life, volunteer & civic efforts, family relationships, and travel.
Lesbian, Gay, Bixexual, and Transgender Information Resource and Archives, Chicago, IL. Founded in 1981 as a depository for the records of lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgendered (LGBT) individuals and organizations.
Transgender Resource Collection, Oak Park Public Library
With a grant provided by the Illinois State Library, the Oak Park Public Library offers circulating materials that serve, welcome, and reflect transgender people.
Continuum Complete International Encyclopedia of Sexuality
Overviews of the sexual beliefs and practices in 60 countries.
Encyclopedia of Homosexuality
Online wiki version of the 1990 Garland Publishing Encyclopedia.
glbtq: The World's Largest Encyclopedia of Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual, Transgender, and Queer Culture
An excellent source on a variety of topics of historical interest, with special emphasis on the arts and literature.
People with a History: An Online Guide to Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, and Trans* History
Hosted by Fordham UniversityPeople with a History presents the history of lesbians, gay men, bisexuals and transgendered people [=LGBT]. It includes hundreds of original texts, discussions, and images, and addresses LGBT history in all periods, and in all regions of the world.
Other Online Resources
Thousands of libraries, museums, and archives have contributed nearly a million collection descriptions to ArchiveGrid.
Chicago Women's Liberation Union Herstory Project
The Herstory Project is dedicated to sharing the events and stories that took place in the CWLU during the second wave feminist movement. Here you will find historical documents, videos, pictures as well as personal memoirs from people who were there. In order to help you navigate this site better, we have provided pages specific to your needs whether you are student, a teacher or an activist.
Frances Perkins Center
Perkins, the first woman to serve on a presidential cabinet. During her time as the U.S. secretary of labor under President Franklin Delano Roosevelt, Perkins worked tirelessly to improve the conditions of workers across the country.
LGBT Collections, University of South Florida Libraries, Tampa, FL
The USF Libraries’ Special Collections department is determined to expand its collection of historically significant lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender (LGBT) materials, both in monographic and archival formats. Our focus is on collecting materials that document LGBT history, culture, politics, community relations, and public health. While the Tampa Bay region remains an important focus, these collections are international in scope.
Women's History Research in Archives
Research Guides at University of Wisconsin-Madison
Women: Archives Library Information Center
U.S. National Archives and Records Administration
Tutt Library, Colorado College Research Help Desk: 719-389-6662, Texting: 719-387-5441, E-mail: tuttref@ColoradoCollege.edu