Skip to main content
Tutt Library Research Guides
Find These Books @ Tutt Library
Gay and Lesbian Communities the World Over
Call Number: HQ76.25 .S56 2009
Publication Date: 2009
Includes bibliographical references and index; addresses issues of: Christianity and homosexuality; Judaism and homosexuality; Islam and homosexuality; Hinduism, Buddhism, and homosexuality; Homosexuality in ancient Greece and Rome; Homosexuality during the middle ages; Early Africa and homosexuality; Portrayal of gays and lesbians in the arts; Early psychology and homosexuality; as well as chapters on many countries through out the world.
How to Be Gay
Call Number: HQ76 .H2795 2012
Publication Date: 2012
David Halperin, a pioneer of LGBTQ studies, dares to suggest that gayness is a specific way of being that gay men must learn from one another in order to become who they are. Carrying forward the notorious undergraduate course of the same title that he taught at the University of Michigan, provoking cries of outrage from both the right-wing media and the gay press, Halperin concludes that the genius of gay culture resides in some of its most despised features: its aestheticism, snobbery, melodrama, adoration of glamour, caricatures of women, and obsession with mothers. The insights and unfazed critical intelligence displayed by gay culture, Halperin argues, have much to offer the mainstream.
Research Guide for LGBTQ Studies and Research
This page will help you get started, seeking information on Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender, and Queer LGBTQ topics and issues. Due to the interdisciplinary nature of this field, it would be impossible to include all scholarship and information that is available. The LGBTQ Information, Issues, & Resources guide also serves as a starting point for topics and information to consider.
* Special Thanks to Research Librarians Ellen Bosman (New Mexico State University) and Roger Myers (Maryville College) for many of the resources included in this guide! *
The Rainbow Flag
A symbol of the the gay and lesbian movement, San Francisco artist Gilbert Baker designed the first rainbow flag for his city's June 25, 1978, Gay Freedom Day Parade. The orginal flag had eight stripes but was redesigned in 1979. Today, the six colors represent the following:
- Red = Life
- Orange = Healing
- Yellow - Sun or Sunlight
- Green = Serenity
- Blue = Harmony
- Violet = Spirit
Today, the rainbow flag is a feature of gay pride celebrations around the world, and many lesbians and gay men fly it at their homes. It has been recognized by the International Congress of Flag Makers.
from Completely Queer: The Gay and Lesbian Encyclopedia
Links to CC-Related Resources
Equal is a confidential group of students that identify outside of the heterosexual norm, or that are questioning their sexual or gender identity.
Selected Web Sites and Descriptions
Campus Pride represents the only national nonprofit 501(c)(3) organization for student leaders and campus groups working to create a safer college environment for LGBT students. The organization is a volunteer-driven network "for" and "by" student leaders. The primary objective of Campus Pride is to develop necessary resources, programs and services to support LGBT and ally students on college campuses across the United States.
National Lesbian and Gay Task Force
Resources and information LGBTQ college students, including a comprehensive report detailing challenges faced by LGBT people on campus.
Consortium of Higher Education LGBT Resource Professionals
The combined vision and mission of the Consortium is to achieve higher education environments in which lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender students, faculty, staff, administrators, and alumni have equity in every respect. Our goals are to support colleagues and develop curriculum to professionally enhance this work; to seek climate improvement on campuses; and to advocate for policy change, program development, and establishment of LGBT Office/Centers.
Continuum Complete International Encyclopedia of Sexuality
Overviews of the sexual beliefs and practices in 60 countries.
Encyclopedia of Homosexuality
Online wiki version of the 1990 Garland Publishing Encyclopedia.
glbtq: The World's Largest Encyclopedia of Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual, Transgender, and Queer Culture
An excellent source on a variety of topics of historical interest, with special emphasis on the arts and literature.
People with a History: An Online Guide to Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, and Trans* History
Hosted by Fordham UniversityPeople with a History presents the history of lesbians, gay men, bisexuals and transgendered people [=LGBT]. It includes hundreds of original texts, discussions, and images, and addresses LGBT history in all periods, and in all regions of the world.
Other Online Resources
Thousands of libraries, museums, and archives have contributed nearly a million collection descriptions to ArchiveGrid.
Chicago Women's Liberation Union Herstory Project
The Herstory Project is dedicated to sharing the events and stories that took place in the CWLU during the second wave feminist movement. Here you will find historical documents, videos, pictures as well as personal memoirs from people who were there. In order to help you navigate this site better, we have provided pages specific to your needs whether you are student, a teacher or an activist.
Frances Perkins Center
Perkins, the first woman to serve on a presidential cabinet. During her time as the U.S. secretary of labor under President Franklin Delano Roosevelt, Perkins worked tirelessly to improve the conditions of workers across the country.
LGBT Collections, University of South Florida Libraries, Tampa, FL
The USF Libraries’ Special Collections department is determined to expand its collection of historically significant lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender (LGBT) materials, both in monographic and archival formats. Our focus is on collecting materials that document LGBT history, culture, politics, community relations, and public health. While the Tampa Bay region remains an important focus, these collections are international in scope.
Women's History Research in Archives
Research Guides at University of Wisconsin-Madison
Women: Archives Library Information Center
U.S. National Archives and Records Administration
Electronic Resources @ Tutt
Tutt Library, Colorado College Research Help Desk: 719-389-6662, Texting: 719-387-5441, E-mail: tuttref@ColoradoCollege.edu