Skip to main content
Tutt Library Research Guides
U.S. Agency for International Development
Gender Equality and Women's Empowerment
The U.S. Agency for International Development (USAID) is committed to providing development assistance that improves the lives of women, men and children around the world. USAID has a special interest in the advancement of women worldwide and is working to improve women's equality and empowerment.
U.S. Department of Justice
Bureau of Justice Statistics
United States' primary source for criminal justice statistics
National Institute of Justice Violence Against Women and Family Violence Program
The mission of the Violence against Women and Family Violence Research and Evaluation program is to promote the safety of women and family members, and to increase the efficiency and effectiveness of the criminal justice system's response to these crimes.
Office of Violence against Women
The Office on Violence against Women (OVW), a component of the U.S. Department of Justice, provides national leadership in developing the nation's capacity to reduce violence against women through the implementation of the Violence against Women Act (VAWA). Created in 1995, OVW administers financial and technical assistance to communities across the country that are developing programs, policies, and practices aimed at ending domestic violence, dating violence, sexual assault, and stalking.
National Science Academy
Committee on Women in Science, Engineering, and Medicine
The Committee on Women in Science, Engineering, and Medicine (CWSEM) is a standing committee of the National Research Council (NRC). Its mandate is to coordinate, monitor, and advocate action to increase the participation of women in science, engineering, and medicine. Established in 1990 as CWSE, the committee expanded its scope in 2007 to include medicine. The committee collects and disseminates information on the education and employment of women scientists and engineers.
Center for Disease Control and Prevention
U.S. Department of Health & Human Services
Office of Women's Health
The Office on Women's Health (OWH) in the Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) was established in 1991 to improve the health of American women by advancing and coordinating a comprehensive women's health agenda throughout the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services to address health care prevention and service delivery, research, public and health care professional education, and career advancement for women in the health professions and in scientific careers.
This page links to frequently asked questions about women's health. Topics cover a variety of issues, including adolescent health, autoimmune diseases, mental health, nutrition and physical activity, pregnancy and reproductive health, and more.
Substance Abuse & Mental Health Services Administration Women and Substance Abuse
Office of Applied Science information, reports and statistics on Substance Abuse and Women.
U.S. Department of Labor
BLS Data on Women
The Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS) provides extensive labor market data on women (and other worker groups) through its news releases, publications, and website. Users have access to data on women’s employment, unemployment, and earnings by industry, occupation, education, age, marital status, and other characteristics. Data are also available on how women use their time and on workplace injuries and illnesses experienced by women. All of these data are also available for men.
Find It! By Audience-Women
This page provides a shortcut to information and services the Department of Labor (DOL) offers for women.
The U.S. Department of Labor Women's Bureau, established by Congress in 1920, is the only federal agency mandated to represent working women in the public policy process. Its mission is to promote the welfare of wage-earning women, improve their working conditions, increase their efficiency, and advance their opportunities for profitable employment.
National Institutes of Health
Lesbian, Gay, and Transgender Health
WebPages that provide information and resources on some of the health issues and inequities affecting LGBT communities. Links to other information sources and resources are also provided. Some of this information is designed for members of the general public. Other information has been developed for health care providers, public health professionals, and public health students.
Medline plus Gay, Lesbian and Transgender Health
Gay, lesbian, bisexual and transgender individuals have special health concerns besides the usual ones that affect most men and women. On this page you'll find information about these specific health issues.
National Institute of Mental Health Women and Mental Health
Mental illnesses affect women and men differently — some disorders are more common in women, and some express themselves with different symptoms. Scientists are only now beginning to tease apart the contributions of various biological and psychosocial factors to mental health and mental illness in both women and men. In addition, researchers are currently studying the special problems of treatment for serious mental illness during pregnancy and the postpartum period.
Office of Research on Women's Health
Established in September 1990, the Office of Research on Women's Health (ORWH) serves as a focal point for women's health research at the National Institutes of Health.
National Science Foundation
Women, Minorities, and Persons with Disabilities in Science and Engineering
Women, Minorities, and Persons with Disabilities in Science and Engineering is a report that provides information about the participation of women, minorities, and persons with disabilities in science and engineering education and employment. Information on the site is organized by topic and group. Links to additional data sources and reports are provided.
Small Business Administration
Office of Women's Business Ownership Entrepreneurial Development
The Office of Women’s Business Ownership (OWBO) exists to establish and oversee a network of Women’s Business Centers (WBCs) throughout the United States and its territories. Through the management and technical assistance provided by the WBCs, entrepreneurs, especially women who are economically or socially disadvantaged, are offered comprehensive training and counseling on a vast array of topics in many languages to help them start and grow their own businesses.
America's Health Rankings
State level reproductive statistical reports since 1999
Community Health Status Indicators
State & county level data on birth rates
Global Health Facts
Global data on population, birth, fertility & contraception. Includes a tool to compare up to 5 countries.
Data on abortion, contraceptive availability, pregnancy, etc. Compare states and countries & create graphs of the results.
View & compare states & counties on teen pregnancy rates; Graphs, maps and charts available.
NationMaster - World Statistics, Country Comparisons
Browse or compare countries for female circumcision, abortion, fertility, birth rate, contraceptives, teen pregnancy. Generate maps & graphs.
Free access to US, state, county, and city maternal health data. Useful for STD data. Create graphs & maps of results. Compare states. From the March of Dimes.
State Health Facts
Provides data on more than 500 topics, including HIV/AIDS, women’s health, breast feeding, abortion, STDs, including STD vaccines, testing, & treatment& much more
Trust for America's Health
STD & AIDS statistics for each state.
World Health Organization
Global stats on HIV/AIDS and condom use
Pew Research Center
nonpartisan "fact tank" conducting public opinion polls & analyzing news coverage. Publications, reports, statistics
Archives Library Information Center Women
The struggle for women to gain acceptance, recognition and equal rights in society has been a long process. In recognition of the contributions of American women, ALIC presents a listing of historical websites relevant to women in the United States.
Military Resources: Women in the Military
Links to military reference material, military history and research, pertaining to Women in the Military.
Tutt Library, Colorado College Research Help Desk: 719-389-6662, Texting: 719-387-5441, E-mail: tuttref@ColoradoCollege.edu