Skip to main content
Tutt Library Research Guides
Find These Books @ Tutt Library
Canadian Centres for Teaching Peace
This site contains a wealth of information related to Canadian peacemaking efforts. The site’s news section is well-updated, and there is a good deal of information on Canadian peace conferences/speakers.
Development & Peace
Development and Peace is the official international development organization of the Catholic Church in Canada and the Canadian member of Caritas Internationalis. The goals of this organization are to support initiatives by people in the Global South to take control of their lives and to educate Canadians about North-South issues. There are links to youth initiatives, employment and international programs.
International Peace Bureau
This organization is devoted to world peace. Their page has links to a number of online resources which advocate for the promotion of social spending (as opposed to military spending). Useful for those wanting to keep abreast of disarmament and peace initiatives.
International Peace Research Association
IPRA is a network of interdisciplinary peace researchers who pursue research in sustainable peace initiatives. This site includes a conference schedule, an IPRA directory of research, and a modest links section.
The official page of the Nobel Foundation includes a list of all past Nobel Prize winners, as well as interviews, commentary and articles on Nobel Prize winners. The Nobel Peace Prize section is especially relevant for Peace & Justice Studies students.
Peace & Justice Studies Association
An organization formed from the merger of the Consortium on Peace research, Education and Development (COPRED) and the Peace Studies Association (PSA). The PJSA advocates for peace-building and positive social change. The site contains peace-related bibliographies, PJSA publications, and an extensive calendar of events.
Peacemakers Trust is a Canadian charitable organization dedicated to conflict transformation and peace-building research. The site is notable for its [truly] massive peace-building and conflict bibliography. The bibliography is sub-divided by subject, and is a keystone resource insofar as Canadian conflict studies are concerned.
Science for Peace
Science for Peace, a Canadian organization consisting of natural scientists, engineers, social scientists, scholars in the humanities and people from the wider community, "seeks to understand and act against the forces that make for militarism, environmental destruction, and social injustice here and abroad. "
Stockholm International Peace Research Institute
SIPRI is a well-renowned institute devoted to international peace & security research. The site contains a current news page, a number of databases, and a research library containing SIPRI publications. A well-organized, credible source of information.
United States Institute of Peace
The USIP is an independent, non-partisan institution whose aim is to prevent and resolve global conflict. Their site contains a newsroom, publications list, upcoming events, and various special reports. Though USIP is chiefly concerned with American peace-building efforts, their site is still relevant to the international peace researcher.
Multimedia @ Tutt Library
Tutt Library, Colorado College Research Help Desk: 719-389-6662, Texting: 719-387-5441, E-mail: tuttref@ColoradoCollege.edu