Skip to main content
Tutt Library Research Guides
Primary Source Databases for World History
Afghanistan and the U.S. 1945-1963 (Archives Unbound-Gale)
Provides access to approximately 1.7 million pages of primary source newspaper content from the 19th century, featuring full-text content and images from numerous newspapers from a range of urban and rural regions throughout the U.S.
Australia Japan Research Project
The AJRP aims to provide a resource for historians and others interested in the Australia-Japan relationship, especially in war, from 1901 to 1957. It contains a database of historic materials, several research essays and seminar papers, and various research aids, including glossaries and thesauri of geographical and military terms.
British and Irish Women's Letters and Diaries, from 1500-1950
Coverage: 1558 - 1950.
Contains 100,000+ pages of letters and diaries of over 500 women. Organized for detailed browsing and searching. Cross-searchable under Social and Cultural History.
Early Encounters in North America: Peoples, Cultures, and the Environment
Coverage: 1474 - 1800's.
Full text works by 1,400+ authors in the form of letters, diaries, memoirs and accounts of early encounters between American Indians, Europeans, Americans, and Africans in all areas of North America. Offers advanced searching and browsing of people, events, flora, fauna and more.
Early English Books Online
Coverage: 1475 - 1700.
Contains the full text of over 100,000 English books, pamphlets, and more, from the first book published in English through the age of Spenser and Shakespeare.
Eighteenth Century Collections Online
Digitized copies of every significant English-language and foreign-language title printed in Great Britain during the eighteenth century, along with thousands of important works from the Americas. Now incorporates new texts from ECCO part two.
Foreign Relations Between Latin America and the Caribbean States, 1930-1944
Organized by country, this collection covers a wide range of viewpoints on political, social, and economic issues. It sheds light on the foreign relations interactions between Central American and South American countries. In the Caribbean, Cuba, Haiti, and the Dominican Republic are represented. This collection includes cables, memoranda, correspondence, reports and analyzes, and treaties. Documents are from the U.S. State Department. Part of Archives Unbound.
Manuscript Women's Letters and Diaries from the American Antiquarian Society, 1750-1950
Coverage: 1719 - 1976.
Growing collection of writings of women from the 18th-20th centuries, drawn from the American Antiquarian Society. Offers advanced browsing and searching, and high-quality scans. Some materials are cross-searchable under Social and Cultural History.
North American Immigrant Letters, Diaries, and Oral Histories
Coverage: 1784 - 2004.
100,00 pages of letters, diaries, oral histories, interviews and other personal narratives by 2,000+ authors. Some audio recordings are available. Material is organized for advanced browsing and searching. Some materials are cross-searchable under Social and Cultural History.
North American Women's Letters and Diaries
Coverage: 1675 - 2002.
150,000+ pages of diaries and letters from over 1,300 women, supplemented with biographies and bibliographies. Browse and search by detailed factors like author, race, occupation, age at first childbirth, year written, and geographical setting. Cross-searchable under Social and Cultural History.
Oral history online
Coverage: 1930 - 2008.
Growing index to 2,700+ collections of oral history in English from around the world; 280,000+ pages by over 9,000 individuals and pointers to thousands of audio/video files. Browse the Table of Contents by repository, interview, date, place, event or subject. Advanced search allows for detailed searching by factors like names, ages, historical events discussed, and more.
Women Writers Online
Coverage: 1400 - 1850.
Contains fulltext of nearly 400 works of early modern women writers.
World War II: Pacific Theater
This page links to original source materials pertaining to World War II, and in particular to the Pacific War. Included are links to a report produced in 1946 by the Manhattan Engineer District about the Hiroshima and Nagasaki atomic bombings, government documents about Pearl Harbor, and an FBI report about Tokyo Rose.
World War II Resources
Primary source materials on the Web. Original documents regarding all aspects of the war. Includes The JAPANESE MONOGRAPHS, A series of 187 studies on Japan's role in WWII, written by Japanese participants in the events at the request of the US Government.
Coverage: 1826 - current.
Over one million photographs provided by the Associated Press.
HISTORICAL ARCHIVE 1843-2006. Digitized version of the famous magazine which has analyzed British and global affairs for 150+ years. For more recent issues of the Economist, please see the print version in Tutt Library or access through EBSCO.
Latin American Newspapers
Coverage: 1805 - 1922.
More than 35 fully searchable newspapers published in the 19th and early 20th centuries from Argentina, Brazil, Chile, Cuba, Guatemala, Mexico, Peru, Venezuela and elsewhere.
Readers Guide Abstracts
Coverage: 1983 - current.
Popular periodicals published in the U.S. and Canada. 1983-current.
Readers' Guide Retrospective
Coverage: 1890 - 1982.
The premier index to popular periodicals. No full text links, but Tutt owns a large percentage of the magazines/journals indexed by this resource. Continued by Readers Guide Abstracts.
South Asian Newspapers
Coverage: 1864 - 1922. Collection of newspapers published in India, Pakistan and Sri Lanka; languages include English, Bengali and Gujarati. When completed, this collection will provide 400,000+ pages.
Times Digital Archive, 1785-1985
Full text of the The Times (London) provides access to full facsimile images of either a specific article or a complete page. The entire newspaper is captured, with all articles, advertisements and illustrations/photos.
Tutt Library, Colorado College Research Help Desk: 719-389-6662, Texting: 719-387-5441, E-mail: tuttref@ColoradoCollege.edu