Skip to main content
Tutt Library Research Guides
Find Films & Electronic Resources @ Tutt Library
Online Film Resources
The photo above is from the film A Walk Through the Past (Part II), which was produced by Micronesian Seminar, and is freely available online (to view the video, click here or follow the Micronesian Seminar link below for a listing of all titles available online). Mouse over links listed below for descriptions.
Internet Archive: Movies
A collection of open-access films, which includes content on World War II in the Pacific. (Tip: Use the "advanced search" mode for better results.)
The Micronesian Seminar video studio has produced more than 68 videos on health care, migration, history, youth, land, education, economics, business, and social issues. Most are available for free online viewing.
Moving Images of the Pacific Islands: A Guide To Films and Videos
A database of over 3,400 entries on films related to the Pacific Islands—i.e., produced about the Pacific Islands or Islanders or filmed in the Islands. In addition, it includes many films written by, directed by, produced by, or starring Pacific Islanders. The majority of these films will be available at UH-Manoa's Wong Audio/Visual Center, and will also be cataloged in the library's Voyager catalog; however this database sometimes includes information not included in the Voyager records.
With paintbrush, not gun experiences of an Army artist in the Pacific
An Army artist talks about his experiences during World War II in Papua New Guinea, Philippines, and Japan. He also returns to those areas after the war to collect art.
Freely Available on the Internet
American Memory: Motion Pictures
Presidential inaugurations, ads, vaudeville, important historical events, and more. From the Library of Congress.
American Memory: Sound Recordings
Oral histories, dialect recordings, slave narratives, Native American music, and much more. From the Library of Congress.
Concerts, news broadcasts, readings, original music. From the Internet Archive.
Large database of free sound effects, founded and run by students from Universitat Pomepu Fabra Barcelona.
Moving Image Archive
Large collection of films, newsreels, broadcasts, cartoons, concerts, etc. From the Internet Archive.
Other Online Resources
Mouse over link for description.
Books on Film @ Tutt Library
Streaming Media Databases, subscription (CC only)
Database of American Recorded American Music: DRAM
Streaming audio of CDs from New World Records. May misbehave off campus.
Films on demand
Documentary and educational films. Largely secondary source, but potentially useful as supporting media in a presentation.
Our Music Online collection includes American Song, Classical, Contemporary World Music, Jazz, Smithsonian Global Sound. Music can be browsed by time period, from Medieval to 21st century.
Browse Music Online
Music Online offers many ways to browse for music!
Internet Archive: Moving Image Archive
Hawaii War Records Depository Photographs
Includes roughly 1,500 photographs taken by the U.S. Army Signal Corps, the U.S. Navy, the Honolulu Star Bulletin and the Honolulu Advertiser between 1941 and 1946. All document the impact of World War II on Hawaii.
These image collections cover World War II and the years immediately following, to document both the war and its aftermath in Hawaii and the Pacific. All are scanned from physical images held by the Pacific Collection or the University Archives. The image above is a poster from the War In the Pacific digital collection (see link below).
Margo Duggan Collection: Slides of Micronesia and Hawaii, 1949-1954
Images of early post-WWII Micronesia, taken by a civilian employee of the Trust Territory of the Pacific Islands administration.
Trust Territory Archives Photograph Collection
Early post-WWII images of Micronesia, most taken by various government agencies. Includes some WWII era photos, as well as photos documenting damage of the war. (To find images, use the term war in search box.)
War in the Pacific
The images displayed here are drawn from several distinct art and photograph collections held in the Pacific Collection. The images cover several geographic regions and time periods. Taken as a whole, they document multiple facets of WWII Pacific, from the brutal and the tragic to the mundane day-to-day existence of life in a war zone.
Tutt Library, Colorado College Research Help Desk: 719-389-6662, Texting: 719-387-5441, E-mail: tuttref@ColoradoCollege.edu