Skip to main content
Tutt Library Research Guides
Hawaii War Records Depository Photographs
Includes roughly 1,500 photographs taken by the U.S. Army Signal Corps, the U.S. Navy, the Honolulu Star Bulletin and the Honolulu Advertiser between 1941 and 1946. All document the impact of World War II on Hawaii.
These image collections cover World War II and the years immediately following, to document both the war and its aftermath in Hawaii and the Pacific. All are scanned from physical images held by the Pacific Collection or the University of Hawaii Archives. The image above is a poster from the War In the Pacific digital collection (see link below).
Margo Duggan Collection: Slides of Micronesia and Hawaii, 1949-1954
Images of early post-WWII Micronesia, taken by a civilian employee of the Trust Territory of the Pacific Islands administration.
Trust Territory Archives Photograph Collection
Early post-WWII images of Micronesia, most taken by various government agencies. Includes some WWII era photos, as well as photos documenting damage of the war. (To find images, use the term war in search box.)
War in the Pacific
The images displayed here are drawn from several distinct art and photograph collections held in the Pacific Collection. The images cover several geographic regions and time periods. Taken as a whole, they document multiple facets of WWII Pacific, from the brutal and the tragic to the mundane day-to-day existence of life in a war zone.
Freely Available Primary Sources, Mostly English Translations
Finding too many broken links? Try inputting a link into the Wayback Machine and specifying an older date; you may find what you were looking for.
Center for the Study of War Experience
Warexperience.org is dedicated to acquiring and preserving the firsthand experiences of military veterans and civilians impacted by war. Its primary goal is to record videotaped interviews to allow veterans the opportunity to recount their experiences in their own words, and to make those experiences available to future generations through archival projects, internet distribution and television documentary productions.
De Re Military: Primary Sources
Translated sources on medieval warfare. From De Re Military: the Society for Medieval Military History.
Links to European primary historical documents. From Brigham Young University's Harold B. Lee Library.
Internet History Sourcebook
Substantial collection of translated primary sources, organized by topics and eras. From the Fordham University Center for Medieval Studies.
Hanover Historical Texts Collection
Digital versions of historical texts for use in history and humanities courses. From Hanover College's History Department.
Oxford Islamic Studies Online
Includes primary sources which can be browsed by era, topic and region. This was accessible 9/18/2013, please contact email@example.com
if found to be no longer working.
World War II : Available Academic Resources
World War II: Pacific Theater
This page links to original source materials pertaining to World War II, and in particular to the Pacific War. Included are links to a report produced in 1946 by the Manhattan Engineer District about the Hiroshima and Nagasaki atomic bombings, government documents about Pearl Harbor, and an FBI report about Tokyo Rose.
World War II Resources
Primary source materials on the Web. Original documents regarding all aspects of the war. Includes The JAPANESE MONOGRAPHS, A series of 187 studies on Japan's role in WWII, written by Japanese participants in the events at the request of the US Government.
Australia Japan Research Project
The AJRP aims to provide a resource for historians and others interested in the Australia-Japan relationship, especially in war, from 1901 to 1957. It contains a database of historic materials, several research essays and seminar papers, and various research aids, including glossaries and thesauri of geographical and military terms.
Congressional Declaration of War on Japan
US Historical Documents: The University of Oklahoma College of Law. December 8, 1941.
These websites contain millions of digitized books, some of which may be primary sources or English translations of sources. There is some overlap between the websites but each one has unique content.
Google Scholar can be used to find primary sources. Click on the arrow to the right of the search box to open the Advanced Scholar Search window.
Tutt Library, Colorado College Research Help Desk: 719-389-6662, Texting: 719-387-5441, E-mail: tuttref@ColoradoCollege.edu