Skip to main content
Tutt Library Research Guides
American Family Immigration History Center
Search Ellis Island passenger records and genealogy resources.
Center for Jewish History Genealogy Institute
The center provides reference services to over 100 million archival documents and a half million books, including family histories, memoirs, correspondence, personal papers, and records of communal, cultural, political and professional organizations. Among these sources are many documents with information about individuals and families.
Cyndi's List of Genealogy Sites on the Internet
A categorized index of genealogical resources on the internet.
East Central European Genealogy and Local History: Sources for Research
From the Library of Congress, this bibliography, 'Genealogical Guides and Handbooks: Jewish,' lists the major published research tools.
Genealogy as a Spiritual Pilgrimage
Arthur Kurzweil's Malcolm R. Stern Memorial Lecture given at the 14th Summer Seminar on Jewish Genealogy, Washington, DC, June 28, 1995.
Israel Genealogical Society
The Israel Genealogical Society offers a combination of research materials, guidance and support for those interested in Jewish family history.
Jewish Genealogical Society of Greater Philadelphia
Focuses on Jewish family history by collecting, preserving, and disseminating genealogy-related knowledge and information, including a 'Register of Roots.' Offers information on Philadelphia Jewish history, and has a South Jersey affiliate group.
Jewish Genealogical Society of Washington State
Focuses on Jewish family history by collecting, preserving, and disseminating genealogy-related knowledge and information. Offers information on Washington Jewish history, getting started in genealogy, state and national resources, and research.
JewishGen: Jewish Genealogy
The primary Internet source connecting researchers of Jewish genealogy. The most popular parts are its Discussion Group, Family Finder (a database of over 60,000 surnames and towns), Infofiles (comprehensive directory of information resources, organized by both topic and country) and a variety of other databases like the ShtetlSeeker. This excellent site also contains information on genealogical techniques and allows you to search by country as well as by topic.
Sephardic Genealogy Resources
Created by Jeff Malka, this site includes a list of websites by country, Sephardic surnames, family trees, forms and more.
A research tool for Sephardic Genealogy/Jewish Genealogy, including a Sephardic Names Search Engine.
Yizkor Book Project
This site, sponsored by the JewishGen genealogy group, features translations of more than 580 Yizkor books originally written in Yiddish. 'Yizkor books were written after the Holocaust as memorials to Jewish communities destroyed in the Holocaust. They were usually put together by survivors from those communities and contain descriptions and histories of the shtetl, biographies of prominent people, lists of people who perished, etc.' Also includes information about libraries with Yizko
Tutt Library, Colorado College Research Help Desk: 719-389-6662, Texting: 719-387-5441, E-mail: tuttref@ColoradoCollege.edu