Skip to main content
Tutt Library Research Guides
Site devoted to popular Yiddish singer & actor of the 'Golden Age of Yiddish Theater.' Features lyrics, mp3s, biography and more.
Ari Davidow's Klezmer Shack
'We have klezmer news and the latest reviews. For new musicians, we've added a FAQ on 'Essential klezmer repertoire' culled from the Jewish-music mailing list.' Locate ongoing and single events through the calendar; also find information about and related links to bands, sheet music, record labels, instruments, and more.
Brown University On-line Collection of Yiddish Sheet Music
A searchable database of Brown University's digital Yiddish sheet music collection.
Chassidic Jazz Project
The Chassidic Jazz Project is dedicated to bringing the music of the Jewish people to a larger audience by using jazz as a vehicle for musical expression, performing Chassidic melodies set to jazz arrangements. The liturgical origin of the group's material is clearly different from klezmer music. Click on the 'hear music' link on the site to download Real Audio or MP3 clips.
FAU Judaica Sound Archives
More than 7,000 digitized tracks from LP and 78 r.p.m. recordings, covering more than 80 years and a vast range of material. Primarily music; some spoken-word material. Login and Flash Player required. Also: information on some performers and labels, and downloadable cover art. Florida Atlantic University Libraries.
English translations and Hebrew transliterations (and some sound clips) of the Psalms, Jewish festival music, and other lyrics for Hebrew songs. There are links to Israeli singers and musicians and dance sites, plus a noticeboard for comments and requests.
This article from Silver Burdett Making Music provides a good basic overview.
Jewish Music Research Center (Hebrew University, Jerusalem)
The only academic institution in the world fully dedicated to the documentation, research and publication of scholarly materials about Jewish music. The main task of the JMRC consists on collecting and studying all documents pertaining to the musical traditions and the musical life of Jewish communities, past and present. The work of the JMRC encompasses two main areas: ethnomusicology, which deals with Jewish oral traditions, and historically-oriented research based on written documentation.
Jewish Music WebCenter
The purpose of this site is 'to provide an online forum for academic, organizational, and individual activities in Jewish music.' This searchable site includes annotated links to Web resources (browsable by topic or title) and a guide to scholarly research in Jewish music. From Judith Shira Pinnolis, a librarian at Brandeis University.
Jewish Musicians from Poland
Commemoration of Jewish musicians in Poland between the World Wars and during the Holocaust.
Hebrew and Yiddish songs arranged for 2-3 melody instruments, piano & bass; excellent for use with children's groups.
Links to many Klezmer sites.
Links to articles; citations for critical print sources.
Milken Archive of American Jewish Music
The Milken Archive's focus is on the rich body of music specifically related to the American Jewish experience, both sacred and secular, much of it never before recorded.
From the Jewish Theological Seminary Library, whose mission is to collect, preserve, and make available materials that tell, play, and sing the history of the music of the Jewish people, this site includes finding aids to numerous music collections at JTS.
Oyhoo Music Festival & Schmooze Conference
The Oyhoo Festival, begun as the New York Jewish Music and Heritage Festival, is New York City's premiere Jewish music event.
Sephardic Music: A Century of Recordings
This site seeks 'to comprehensively document the entire history of recorded Sephardic music worldwide' through discographies, artist biographies, a discussion of repertoire and performance practice, and many sound files.
Tutt Library, Colorado College Research Help Desk: 719-389-6662, Texting: 719-387-5441, E-mail: tuttref@ColoradoCollege.edu