Skip to main content
Tutt Library Research Guides
Autobiographies & Primary Sources @ Tutt Library
Magazine/Journals @ Tutt
American Periodicals Online provides access to full text images of popular American newspapers, professional journals and magazines that began publication from 1740-1900.
The Economist HISTORICAL ARCHIVE 1843-2006. Digitized version of the famous magazine which has analyzed British and global affairs for 150+ years. For more recent issues of the Economist, please see the print version in Tutt Library or access through EBSCO.
Harper's Weekly provides access to images of all the pages in Harper's Weekly from 1857 to 1912. Everything in this publication has been indexed. You can even exclusively search the advertisements or illustrations.
The Nation Microfilm: v.1-211(1865-1970) Tutt Library 2nd floor
Jewish Primary Source Archives, Portals, & Websites
American Jewish Archives
The Jacob Rader Marcus Center of the American Jewish Archives, located on the Cincinnati campus of Hebrew Union College-Jewish Institute of Religion, houses over ten million pages of documentation. It contains nearly 8,000 linear feet of archives, manuscripts, nearprint materials, photographs, audio and video tapes, microfilm, and genealogical materials.
American Jewish Committee Archives
Filled with more than a million documents and hundreds of movies and radio shows, the New York-based American Jewish Committee Archives house an extraordinary range of resources on the past century of American Jewish history.
Center for Jewish History
Detailed information about this 'central repository for the cultural and historical legacy of the Jewish people,' a project of five respected research facilities. The Web site has online multimedia catalogs of their libraries and archives, and descriptions (including some images) of the center's exhibits and family history resources. The Center, in New York City, has materials on Ashkenazic or Sephardic resources, Yiddish language, Jewish art, and genealogy.
Einstein Archives Online
The Einstein Archives Online Website provides the first online access to Albert Einstein’s scientific and non-scientific manuscripts held by the Albert Einstein Archives at the Hebrew University of Jerusalem and to an extensive Archival Database, constituting the material record of one of the most influential intellects in the modern era.
FAU Judaica Sound Archives
The primary mission of the Judaica Sound Archives at FAU Libraries is to collect, preserve, and digitize Judaica sound recordings; to create educational programs highlighting the contents of this rich cultural legacy; and to encourage the use of this unique scholarly resource by students, scholars and the general public.
Central Archives for the History of the Jewish People
CAHJP was founded in 1939 to gather historical documentation reflecting the collective past of the Jewish people. Formally established in 1969, it is overseen by the Government of Israel, the Jewish Agency for Israel, the Historical Society of Israel, the Israel Academy of Sciences and Humanities, the Hebrew University of Jerusalem, Tel-Aviv University and Bar-Ilan University.
DigiBaeck | Leo Baeck Institute
Gateway to the digital collections of the Leo Baeck Institute, documenting German-speaking Jewry in the modern age.
Entertaining America: Jews, Movies, and Broadcasting
'Over the past century, the various connections between American Jews and the nation's entertainment media have generated a discussion that has been extensive, passionate, and, at times, contentious.' This online exhibit explores these discussions through illustrated commentaries on themes such as 'Yiddish Film and Radio,' 'Hollywood's Jewish Question,' and 'Seinfeld.' Includes related links. The Jewish Museum, New York.
Fortunoff Video Archive for Holocaust Testimonies
A collection of over 4,300 videotaped interviews with witnesses and survivors of the Holocaust. Part of Yale University's department of Manuscripts and Archives, the archive is located at Sterling Memorial Library.
Guide to the Papers of Molly Picon
Yiddish theater icon's papers, housed at the American Jewish Historical Society.
Steven Bergson, a Canadian Judaica librarian and comics fan, maintains this blog about comics with Jewish characters or Jewish themes. It also includes announcements about events related to Jewish comics-- publications, museum exhibitions, lectures--and for discussion about the Jewish comics themselves.. Move over Superman and Wonder Woman, here come Sabraman, Ragman, and Matzogirl!
Jewish Service Heard Round the World: Live from Germany
On Oct. 29, 1944, at the edge of a fierce fight for control of the city of Aachen, Germany, a correspondent for NBC said: 'We bring you now a special broadcast of historic significance: The first Jewish religious service broadcast from Germany since the advent of Hitler.' The service was led by Army Chaplain & Rabbi Capt. Sidney Lefkowitz, and PFC Max Fuchs served as cantor. Anniversary video from the American Jewish Committee archives.
Life Apart: Hasidism in America
Companion site to a Public Broadcasting Service (PBS) 'documentary about a distinctive, traditional Eastern European religious community' that found 'its most vital center in America.' The program focuses on families in New York. The site provides background information and brief essays about the Hasidism movement within Orthodox Judaism, a transcript, details about the film and producers, a bibliography and filmography, photos, and classroom resources.
Milstein Family Communal Archive Project
The Milstein Family Communal Archives Project, led by the YIVO Institute for Jewish Research, is a collaborative effort to chronicle the Jewish experience in 20th Century New York City, as reflected in the archives of five UJA Federation of New York agencies: 92nd Street Y, The Educational Alliance, F-E-G-S Health and Human Services System, NYANA (New York Association for New Americans), and Surprise Lake Camp.
People of a Thousand Towns: The Online Catalog of Photographs of Jewish Life in Prewar Eastern Europe
This collection of 17,000 photographs from the YIVO archives is a visual record of pre-World War II Jewish communities. In some cases, the pictures are all that remains. Online albums document holiday observance, Yiddish writers, immigration, women's roles, and formal studio portraits. Users must register to search the full catalog.
Pittsburgh and Beyond: The Experience of the Jewish Community
This NCJW Oral History Project chronicles the growth of an important American Jewish community. The interviews provide windows into the Jewish community's impact on academic, business, civic, cultural, medical, political, religious, and social evolution and development in Pittsburgh, as well as national and international events.
Shoah Foundation's Visual History Archive
The USC Shoah Foundation Institute's Visual History Archive makes available over 52,000 video testimonies of Holocaust survivors. This is the University of Michigan Library LibGuide to the resource.
Sol Singer Collection of Philatelic Judaica
The site provides a detailed description of the stamps in the Singer collection housed at the Emory University Library's Special Collections and Archives. Includes stamps issued by Israel from 1948-2002, stamps honoring notable Jews and depicting events from the Bible, and examples of stamps produced by the Jewish National Fund as a fundraising source.
Southwest Jewish Archives
Dedicated to collecting and recording the dramatic history of pioneer Jews in the Desert Southwest, including the Crypto-Jews who trace 'their family histories back to Spain and Portugal.' Features materials on Jewish pioneers, railroad builders, ranchers, and merchants; synagogues and religious objects; finding aids; photographs and transcripts of over 20 oral histories.
Stalin's Forgotten Zion: An Illustrated History, 1928-1996
In 1934, Stalin created the Jewish Autonomous Region in the region of Birobidzhan in Siberia as a Soviet alternative to Palestine. This online version of an exhibit created for the Judah Magnes Museum uses archival photographs and multimedia to document the experiment and its failure. It examines the notions of Jewish identity, culture, and community.
Steven Spielberg Jewish Film Archive
This site showcases the 'the largest collection of Jewish documentary film footage in the world. The vaults contain material shot in Israel before and after the establishment of the State in 1948, motion picture records of many Jewish communities in the Diaspora and two special collections relating to the Holocaust.' Users may browse a vintage poster collection and view selected movies online. Includes links. Searchable.
Sylvia and Harry Rebell Digital Collections
From the Jewish Theological Seminary Library, these collections include archives, manuscripts, music, bookplates, pamphlets, and ketubot and wedding poems, along with theses submitted by students in their degree programs.
YIVO Institute for Jewish Research: Online Galleries
Founded in Vilna, Lithuania, the YIVO Institute is one of the foremost centers of Jewish learning. Online galleries have artifacts and photographs of the Jewish Labor Bund, actress Ida Kaminska, treasures from the archives, posters from prewar Poland, artifacts from the Vilna Ghetto and more.
Jewish Resources in UN & Government Documents
Useful INFO: Primary Source Websites
Select U.S. Archives
American Memory: Historical Collections for the National Digital Library
Coverage: historical. Digitized collections from the Library of Congress. Oral histories, letters, photographs, documents. Search by keyword.
From the Library of Congress. Search and view newspaper pages from 1880-1910 and find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present. Chronicling America is sponsored jointly by the National Endowment for the Humanities and the Library of Congress as part of the National Digital Newspaper Program (NDNP).
National Archives and Records Administration
Coverage: historical. Description and many links to digital copies of the documents, photographs and maps housed in the National Archives and regional branches.
Google Scholar can be used to find primary sources. Click on the arrow to the right of the search box to open the Advanced Scholar Search window.
Use a Secondary Source to Find a Primary Source
A bibliography from a good secondary source is a fast, easy way to find primary sources.
Tutt Library, Colorado College Research Help Desk: 719-389-6662, Texting: 719-387-5441, E-mail: tuttref@ColoradoCollege.edu