Skip to main content

Tutt Library Research Guides


HY283 Topics in History: Jews in America: Arts, Music, Culture


Image from: A Century of Immigration, 1820-1924

From Haven to Home: 350 Years of Jewish Life in America

Library of Congress

American Cantorate Site This website details the results of the 1984-1986 History of the American Cantorate project.

Der Yidisher Gramofon Recordings of European Jewish Music

Jewish Music Research Centre Major database documenting oral and written musical traditions of global Jewish communities (The Hebrew University of Jerusalem)

Jewish Music WebCenter

Journal of Jewish Music and Liturgy  Journal of the Cantorial Council of America

Judaica Sound Archives (Florida Atlantic University)

Keynote: Jewish Music Database Produced by the Jewish Music Institute at the University of London; database of recorded and notated music

The Klezmer Shack

The Milken Archive of Jewish Music The American Jewish Experience

National Sound Archives Hebrew University Library digitized audio of music from Israel and Jewish communities worldwide

Robert and Molly Freedman Jewish Sound Archive Catalog of Yiddish music; searchable by composer, author, title, first line, subject, genre, and style

Sephardic Music A Century of Recordings

Shul Music Scores of liturgical music and MIDI sound

Tara: Jewish music publisher

Transcontinental Music: Jewish music publisher

VirtualCantor: Digital recordings of daily, Shabbat, and holiday nusah

Yiddish American Popular Sheet Music The collection of Yiddish popular sheet music at the Library of Congress

Yiddish Sheet Music (Brown University)

Zamir Chorale Jewish music resources

Zemerl Interactive database of Jewish songs


Image: The Jewish Museum (New York)

Council of American Jewish Museums "Preserving, Presenting and Transforming Jewish Culture" Includes a complete list of American Jewish Museums

A Selection of American Jewish Museums

Contemporary Jewish Museum (San Francisco, CA)

The Goldring/Woldenberg Institute of Southern Jewish Life (Jackson, MS)

The Jewish Museum (New York, NY)

Leo Baeck Institute (New York, NY)

The Magnes Collection of Jewish Art and Life (University of California, Berkeley)

Museum of Tolerance - Simon Wiesenthal Center (Los Angeles, CA)

National Museum of American Jewish History (Philadelphia, PA)

National Museum of American Jewish Military History (Washington D.C.)

New Center for Arts and Culture (Boston, MA)

Tenement Museum (New York, NY)

United States Holocaust Museum (Washington D.C.)

Yeshiva University Museum (New York, NY)

Tutt Library, Colorado College      Research Help Desk: 719-389-6662, Texting: 719-387-5441, E-mail: