Skip to main content

Tutt Library Research Guides


HY283 Topics in History: Jews in America: Online Resources

Jewish Community and Individual Resources

Archives of the Center for Jewish Culture (UMass Dartmouth)  The Archives of the Center for Jewish Culture is a collection of manuscript records documenting social and philanthropic organizations, personal memorabilia, photographs, family documents and oral histories that weave a tale of Jewish immigration to the Fall River and New Bedford area from the turn of the 19th century through the 20th.

Bibliography of North American Jewish Community Books (International Association of Jewish Genealogical Studies)

Chicago Jewish Historical Society

Chicago Jewish History (Spertus Institute of Jewish Studies)

Half a Day on Sunday: Jewish-Owned Mom and Pop Grocery Stores (Jewish Historical Society of Greater Washington)

The Henry Morais Papers (Yeshiva University) The archive of Henry Morais (1860-1935), son of the illustrious Jewish leader Sabato Morais, who was a rabbi as well as a journalist. Much of the archive has been digitized.

Interactive Museum of Jewish Montreal The Interactive Museum of Jewish Montreal is a new online portal giving Canadian natives and tourists the chance to browse historic Jewish sites with the click of a mouse. 

Pittsburgh and Beyond: The Experience of the Jewish Community

Southwest Jewish Archives (University of Arizona)

Image from Library of Congress Archives

Congregation Emunath Israel
New York City, June 6, 1944

Online Resources

American Jewish Archives An alphabetical list includes selected Internet resources on American Jewish history.

American Jewish Committee Archives Filled with more than a million documents and hundreds of movies and radio shows, the New York-based American Jewish Committee Archives house an extraordinary range of resources on the past century of American Jewish history.

American Jewish Experience in the Twentieth Century: Antisemitism and Assimilation  A "Teacher Serve" page from the National Humanities Center

American Jewish Historical Society The American Jewish Historical Society provides access to more than 20 million documents and 50,000 books, photographs, art and artifacts that reflect the history of the Jewish presence in the United States from 1654 to the present.

Archive of the American Soviet Jewry Movement The American Jewish Historical Society has established its Archive of the American Soviet Jewry Movement to help assure that the story of the role played by Americans of all faiths in that Movement will be collected and preserved so that future generations will be familiar with, and inspired by, their achievements.

Berman Jewish Databank The Berman Jewish DataBank @ The Jewish Federations of North America offers open access to hundreds of quantitative studies of North American Jewry.

Berman Jewish Policy Archive Open access to a growing library of 13,000+ policy-relevant documents from leading authors, journals, and organizations (NYU Wagner).

Center for Jewish History Digital Collection The Center Digital Collections provides access to the digital assets of the Center for Jewish History and its five partner organizations, the American Jewish Historical Society, the American Sephardi Federation, the Leo Baeck Institute, Yeshiva University Museum, and the YIVO Institute for Jewish Research. The combined collections of the five partners constitute one of the most important resources for the documentation and exploration of the Jewish experience.

From Haven to Home: 350 Years of Jewish Life in America A Library of Congress exhibition marking 350 years of Jewish life in America. The exhibition features more than two hundred treasures of American Judaica from the collections of the Library of Congress, augmented by a selection of important loans from other cooperating cultural institutions.

Gershwind-Bennett Isaac Leeser Digitization Project The Penn Libraries have launched this new website featuring access to the personal papers and publications of Isaac Leeser, widely regarded as the foremost American Jewish leader in antebellum America

The Jacob Rader Marcus Center of the American Jewish Archives at Hebrew Union College-Jewish Institute of Religion (Cincinnati, OH)

Jewish-American History on the Web "Since 1998, has provided full digital text of primary historical documents previously unavailable to the general public except in historical society archives or on reels of microfilm."

Jewish Language Research Website - Jewish English A description of Jewish-English including a helpful bibliography.

Jewish Life in America c1654-1954  Sources from the American Jewish Historical Society, New York

Judaica Americana 100 Pamphlets about Jewish life in the United States published between 1725-1900 from the Jewish Theological Seminary

The Myer & Rosaline Feinstein Center Database of Archives A searchable database of American Jewish historical repositories (Temple University)

News about Jews Digital images and catalog records of 259 American newspapers from the Abraham and Deborah Karp Collection of Early American Judaica, 1782-1898 from the Jewish Theological Seminary

Pictures of Jewish Workers' Life in America (Online Exhibit - Yale University)

The Pittsburgh Jewish Newspaper Project Composed of The Jewish Criterion (1895-1962), The American Jewish Outlook (1934-1962) and The Jewish Chronicle (1962-Present) (Carnegie Mellon University)

Tutt Library, Colorado College      Research Help Desk: 719-389-6662, Texting: 719-387-5441, E-mail: