Skip to main content

Tutt Library Research Guides


HY283 Topics in History: Jews in America: Databases

Free Access Databases

Center for Jewish History

Contains books, documents, manuscripts, photographs and artifacts from the collections of the partners of the Center for Jewish History

  • American Jewish Historical Society
  • American Sephardi Federation
  • Leo Baeck Institute
  • Yeshiva University Museum
  • Yivo Institute for Jewish Research  

Compact Memory: dem Wissenschaftsportal für Jüdische Studien

E-text of more than a hundred Jewish periodicals published in Germany between 1806 and 1938.

The Dinur Center for Research in Jewish History The Jewish History Resource Center

Over 6000 links to websites in more than 30 categories dealing with Jewish History from Biblical times to the present.

  • Periods and Topics: Jewish history, archaeology, gender studies, and geneology,
  • Resources:  databases, texts, bibliographies, maps,
  • Academic World: centers, professors, grants, conferences,
  • Organizations:   libraries, archives, museums, 
  • Tools: indexes and search engines.


A guide to information related to the study of the Ancient Near East on the Web

In the First Person

Search letters, diaries, oral histories, memoirs, and autobiographies within scholarly materials that are freely available on the Web and Alexander Street databases.

Inscriptions from the Land of Israel

Published inscriptions from the Land of Israel that date between ca. 500 BCE and 614 CE, roughly corresponding to the Persian, Greek, and Roman periods.  Substantial contextual information for these inscriptions includes images and geographical information.

Ketubbot Digitization Project

A registry of more than 1200 ketubbot in public and private collections throughout the world, covering a time period of over 900 years.

Kiryat Sefer

The national bibliography of the State of Israel and the Jewish people.  Established in 1925 in order to document materials published in Israel in a variety of disciplines and languages, it is deposited in the Jewish National and University Library.  The bibliography also includes publications in Judaica, acquired by the library from around the world in a variety of languages.

Lowcountry Digital Library

This is the William A. Rosenthall Judaica Collection of the Lowcountry Digital Library. This is an image database that includes prints and photographs.

Rambi: Index of Articles on Jewish Studies

A bibliography of articles in the various fields of Jewish studies and in the study of Eretz Israel, in Hebrew, Yiddish, and European languages.

Image from The Center for Jewish History

Newly arrived refugees at a picnic in Fort Ontario.

Oswego, New York, United States, 1944.

Specialized Databases

Online Exhibitions

Additional Jewish Studies Resources

General Databases with Jewish Studies Content: CC Users Only

Academic Search Complete

Coverage: 1865 - current. Large database with extensive full text access to journals, in addition to abstracts and indexing. Subject coverage is general and broad.

Alternative Press Index

Coverage: 1969 - current. Alternative Press Index is a classic bibliographic database of articles from hundreds of international alternative, radical, and left periodicals. API is now part of EBSCOHOST in two databases: Alternative Press Archives, 1969-1990; and Alternative Press Index, 1991-current. The link above will search both simultaneously; API is cross-searchable with other EBSCOHOST databases.

Avalon Project

The Avalon Project provides access via the World Wide Web to primary source materials in the fields of Law, History, Economics, Politics, Diplomacy and Government.

Historical Abstracts

Coverage: 1967 - current. Covers world history (except for the United States and Canada: see America, History and Life for North American coverage).


Coverage: late 1800's - most recent 0-10 years. Archival access to many scholarly periodicals. Some titles include current issues while others have a moving wall (full text embargo).

MLA International Bibliography

Coverage: 1963 - current. Literature, languages, linguistics, and folklore from journals and series published worldwide.

Project Muse Scholarly Journals Online

Coverage: varies. Project Muse Standard Collection of core scholarly titles from John Hopkins University. Offers current and back issues. Please note: we do not subscribe to the Premium Collection. We have access to most, but not all, Project Muse titles.

Public Affairs International Service (PAIS)

Coverage: 1915 - current. Articles, books, conference proceedings, government documents, book chapters, and statistical directories about public affairs.


Tutt Library, Colorado College      Research Help Desk: 719-389-6662, Texting: 719-387-5441, E-mail: