Skip to main content
Tutt Library Research Guides
Checking out media
These DVDs and VHS are available for checkout at the first floor of the library. Ask for your titles at the first floor of the library at the Circulation Desk.
Documentary Film: Identity and Diaspora
Off and Running : An American Coming of Age Story
Call Number: E185.93.N56 O34 2009
Documentary about a Brooklyn teen-aged girl, raised by two Jewish mothers and with two adopted brothers, who searches for information about her African-American birth mother.
Testament [electronic resource] : Early Church and Jewish Diaspora
Call Number: Films on Demand
Using the book the Acts of the Apostles, this program traces the birth of Christianity to the development of the first Christian communities. Christian persecutions and the role of the catacombs as places of hiding and worship are discussed, along with the activities of the founders of the first synods, theologians Gregory of Nyssa, John Chrysostom, and Saint Augustine. An examination of the Jewish diaspora from ancient times to the present provides a valuable historical perspective on political events in Israel and the Middle East. (52 minutes)
A Yiddish World Remembered [electronic resource]
Call Number: Films on Demand
Brimming with firsthand accounts, archival films and photographs, this program examines the Yiddish culture and society that grew out of the Jewish diaspora in Eastern Europe. The film explores many aspects of that nearly vanished way of life-the fascinating Yiddish language; traditional clothing; education in the cheder, or school house; the rabbis and rebbes who often led Yiddish communities; and the powerful Jewish movements of Hasidism, Bundism, and Zionism
A Selection of Websites
Entertaining America: Jews, Movies, and Broadcasting
'Over the past century, the various connections between American Jews and the nation's entertainment media have generated a discussion that has been extensive, passionate, and, at times, contentious.' This online exhibit explores these discussions through illustrated commentaries on themes such as 'Yiddish Film and Radio,' 'Hollywood's Jewish Question,' and 'Seinfeld.' Includes related links. The Jewish Museum, New York.
Life Apart: Hasidism in America
Companion site to a Public Broadcasting Service (PBS) 'documentary about a distinctive, traditional Eastern European religious community' that found 'its most vital center in America.' The program focuses on families in New York. The site provides background information and brief essays about the Hasidism movement within Orthodox Judaism, a transcript, details about the film and producers, a bibliography and filmography, photos, and classroom resources.
Steven Spielberg Jewish Film Archive
This site showcases the 'the largest collection of Jewish documentary film footage in the world. The vaults contain material shot in Israel before and after the establishment of the State in 1948, motion picture records of many Jewish communities in the Diaspora and two special collections relating to the Holocaust.' Users may browse a vintage poster collection and view selected movies online. Includes links. Searchable.
DVDs, Films, & Videos in Tutt Library
The following are a sampling of DVDs on the topic of Jewish American culture available for checkout at Tutt Library.
Call Number: PN1995.9.F67 H366 2013
Biopic of the influential German-Jewish philosopher and political theorist. Arendt's reporting on the 1961 trial of ex-Nazi Adolf Eichmann in The New Yorker, controversial both for her portrayal of Eichmann and the Jewish councils, introduced her now-famous concept of the 'Banality of Evil.' Using footage from the actual Eichmann trial and weaving a narrative that spans three countries, von Trotta beautifully turns the often invisible passion for thought into dramatic cinema
The Long Search. [Vol. 5]
Call Number: BL80.3 .L66 2001 v. 5
Forms part of a series on world religions in which theater director Ronald Eyre travels around the globe asking people basic questions about their religious beliefs and practices. Vol. 5 visits Egypt to explore the experience of Islamic worship. Includes interviews with a number of Muslims who discuss their personal attitudes and approaches to their religion. Describes the main tenets of Islam and shows scenes of Muslims praying in a mosque, signing a marriage contract, attending a class for the study of the Koran, and boarding a plane to make the pilgrimage to Mecca. Vol. 6 examines the unique relationship that existed between the Eastern Orthodox Church and the Communist state in Romania. Visits a number of Romanian churches and shows a funeral, pre-Easter activities of villagers, and the Eastern Orthodox Christian liturgy with its Byzantine splendor and inspiring choral music. Includes interviews with priests, a bishop, and church members concerning their religious beliefs. Vol. 7 consists of interviews with several Jews living throughout the world who attempt to define the significance of being one of the chosen people. Includes discussions with Elie Wiesel, Norbert Brainin and the Amadeus Quartet, and Dr. Pinchas Peli, a tenth-generation rabbi. Depicts Jewish prayer and ritual and students debating the meaning of the Talmud. Journeys to Jerusalem and shows its schools, synagogues, and the Wailing Wall.
The Man in the Glass Booth
Call Number: PN1997 .M344 2003
Millionaire Jewish entrepreneur Arthur Goldman (Schell) rules a financial empire from his Manhattan penthouse. Is he Arthur Goldman or is he Adolph Dorf, former SS colonel who headed a Nazi concentration camp? As the trial progresses, the question becomes more confusing
Not a Job for a Nice Jewish Girl [videorecording]
Call Number: Videos-2nd Floor North: Video 5268
Shows the unique story of a young Australian who has given up her successful legal career to become a rabbi. Jacqueline Ninio felt there was more to life than material success and decided to go to Israel to take up a five-year course in rabbinical studies. The program explores many issues including the role of women in Orthodox Judaism, which does not accept women as rabbis, as well as the broader issues of women's rights within Judaism and Israel
Call Number: PN1997 .S296 2004
The story of a Catholic war profiteer, Oskar Schindler, who risked his life and went bankrupt in order to save more than 1,000 Jews from certain death in concentration camps. He employed Jews in his crockery factory manufacturing goods for the German army. At the same time he tries to stay solvent with the help of a Jewish accountant and negotiates business with a vicious Nazi commandant who enjoys shooting Jews as target practice from the balcony of his villa that overlooks the prison camp he commands.
Films on Demand @ Tutt Library
Films on demand
Hundreds of documentaries and educational films viewable as a whole or by segment. Register for an account to build playlists and set preferences. If you have trouble viewing from off campus, please contact the Reference Desk at x6662.
Use Prospector to request books & more from across Colorado
If you can't find a book, DVD, CD, or other item you need in Tiger, you can use Prospector to search libraries across Colorado and then request that they be sent to the Tutt Library circulation desk for you to check out here.
Books on Film @ Tutt Library
Tutt Library, Colorado College Research Help Desk: 719-389-6662, Texting: 719-387-5441, E-mail: tuttref@ColoradoCollege.edu