Skip to main content

Tutt Library Research Guides


HY283 Topics in History: Jews in America: Home

Use Tiger to find books & more at Colorado College

Search Tiger by 

Tiger, the CC library catalog, will tell you what we own (books, DVDs, CDs, etc.) or subscribe to (journals, databases, etc.) at Colorado College. It will not help you find articles in journals.

Use Prospector to request books & more from across Colorado

If you can't find a book, DVD, CD, or other item you need in Tiger, you can use Prospector to search libraries across Colorado and then request that they be sent to the Tutt Library circulation desk for you to check out here.

Use WorldCat to request books from throughout the U.S.

When the materials you want   are not available in TIGER or Prospector, you can search WorldCat.

1. WorldCat lists library holdings nationwide.
2. Requests require an ILL account.
3. Items usually arrive in 5-10 business days.

      Google for Keywords

      Search Google to find keywords related to your topic.

      Jewish American Resources


      This subject guide is a compilation* of audiovisual, print, electronic and online materials in the discipline of Jewish American resources that are available from Tutt Library.  If you have questions or suggestions, please contact your History Liaison, Mimi Wheatwind.

      * A special THANKS to librarians Rachel Ariel (Duke University) Pamela Gillespe (CCNY) Rebecca Jefferson (UFL) and William Pankey (Harper College) for allowing many of their LibGuide resources to be shared and displayed in this guide.


      Jewish American Websites

      Spertus Institute of Jewish Studies
      Spertus invites people of all ages and backgrounds to explore the multi-faceted Jewish experience. Through its innovative public programming, exhibitions, collections, research facilities and degree programs, Spertus inspires learning, serves diverse communities and fosters understanding for Jews and people of all faiths, locally, regionally and around the world. 

      National Museum of American Jewish History
      Independence Mall museum provides full online exhibitions, Jewish history timeline, links, etc.

      United States Holocaust Memorial Museum
      National museum for the documentation, study and interpretation of Holocaust history provides exhibitions online and survivor registry.

      B’nai B’rith International
      B'nai B'right is the world's largest Jewish organization committed to representing the interests of the world's Jewish communities.

      Anti-Defamation League
      "The immediate object of the League is to stop, by appeals to reason and conscience and, if necessary, by appeals to law, the defamation of the Jewish people. Its ultimate purpose is to secure justice and fair treatment to all citizens alike and to put an end forever to unjust and unfair discrimination against and ridicule of any sect or body of citizens." ADL Charter October 1913

      Hillel House
      Hillel: The Foundation for Jewish Campus Life provides opportunities for Jewish students to explore and celebrate their Jewish identity through its global network of over 500 regional centers, campus Foundations and Hillel student organizations. Hillel is working to provoke a renaissance of Jewish life.

      Catalog Search Tips

      When searching TIGER, Prospector, and WorldCat, try to

      1. Use broad keywords from your class reading to begin your search.

      2. Refine your searches by adding or removing keywords.

      3. Click on the subject headings of interesting books to find similar materials.

      4. Try the Library of Congress Authorities and Vocabularies thesaurus to find variations of keywords and subject headings.

        Need Research Help?

        Find the Full Text

          Searches for
        Full Text

        If a database doesn't give you the full text of article, just click on the Tutt Link logo.

        Tutt Link will search to see if the article is available

        1) in another Tutt database
        2) in print (second floor)
        3) through Interlibrary Loan 

        Tutt Library, Colorado College      Research Help Desk: 719-389-6662, Texting: 719-387-5441, E-mail: