Skip to main content
Tutt Library Research Guides
Image from Library of Congress Archives
Important Web Resources
A Celebration of Women Writers
"The Celebration of Women Writers recognizes the contributions of women writers throughout history. Women have written almost every imaginable type of work: novels, poems, letters, biographies, travel books, religious commentaries, histories, economic and scientific works. Our goal is to promote awareness of the breadth and variety of women's writing. "
There are many, many web sites devoted to women's studies. Here is a sampling (in alphabetical order).
Center for American Women and Politics
Rutgers University Center for American Women and Politics (CAWP) includes full-text research reports, fact sheets, and links to other sites related to women and politics.
Genesis: Developing Access to Women's History Sources in the British Isles
Genesis supports research into women's history. It consists of: * A database with descriptions of women's history collections from museums, libraries and archives in the United Kingdom and * A Guide to sources that provides access to a wide range of international web resources on women's history. Genesis was developed with funding from the Research Support Libraries Programme (RSLP) and is currently maintained by the staff of The Women's Library at London Metropolit
Global Feminisms (University of Michigan)
The 'Global Feminisms Project' is a collaborative international project that examines the history of feminist activism, women's movements and academic women's studies in China, India, Poland, and the United States.
Searchable site that gathers and publicizes information about nonprofit organizations.
National Women's History Museum
"The National Women’s History Museum affirms the value of knowing Women’s History, illuminates the role of women in transforming society and encourages all people, women and men, to participate in democratic dialogue about our future.
To do this, the Museum will research, collect and exhibit the contributions of women to the social, cultural, economic and political life of our nation in a context of world history. "
Social Science Information Gateway: Women's Studies
From Women's Library, London. Women's studies provides free access to high quality resources on the Internet. Each resource has been evaluated and categorised by subject specialists based at UK universities.
WSSLINKS: Women and Gender Studies
Developed by the ACRL's Women's Studies Section. Broad categories divided into topical areas. Provides links to a variety of resources, including bibliographies, reports, other publications; organizations; directories, etc.
Women Stats Project
"The WomanStats Project is the most comprehensive compilation of information on the status of women in the world. The Project facilitates understanding the linkage between the situation of women and the security of nation-states. We comb the extant literature and conduct expert interviews to find qualitative and quantitative information on over 310 indicators of women's status in 174 countries. Our Database expands daily, and access to it is free of charge."
Women Working, 1870 - 1930
Harvard University Library Open Collections Program
This page provides an overview of women's and gender history projects at the International Institute of Social History (IISH) (Amsterdam, Netherlands), one of the world's largest documentary and research institutions in the field of social history in general and the history of the labour movement in particular.
Human Rights Watch.
"Despite great strides made by the international women’s rights movement over many years, women and girls around the world are still married as children or trafficked into forced labor and sex slavery. They are refused access to education and political participation, and some are trapped in conflicts where rape is perpetrated as a weapon of war. Around the world, deaths related to pregnancy and childbirth are needlessly high, and women are prevented from making deeply personal choices in their private lives. Human Rights Watch is working toward the realization of women’s empowerment and gender equality—protecting the rights and improving the lives of women and girls on the ground."
Women's Studies Librarian's Office. University of Wisconsin
One of the most comprehensive bibliographies of materials in the area of women's studies, gender research and feminism available on the web.
Women's Studies / Women's Issues Resource Sites
Women's Studies / Women's Issues Resource Sites is a selective, annotated, highly acclaimed listing of web sites containing resources and information about women's studies / women's issues, with an emphasis on sites of particular use to an academic women's studies program.
Author = Joan Korenman, Professor Emerita of English, Affiliate Professor Emerita of Women's Studies, and Founder of the Center for Women and Information Technology at the University of Maryland, Baltimore County (UMBC).
Working Women, 1800-1930
Open Collections Program from Harvard University. The collection explores women's role in in the economy:working conditions, costs of living, recreation, health and hygiene and other social issues.
The World's Women and Girls
Population reference Bureau. 2011 data sheet.
Tutt Library, Colorado College Research Help Desk: 719-389-6662, Texting: 719-387-5441, E-mail: tuttref@ColoradoCollege.edu